NFHS selects eight Northeast Ohio coaches as 2011-12 Coaches of the Year

NFHS selects eight Northeast Ohio coaches as 2011-12 Coaches of the Year


NFHS selects eight Northeast Ohio coaches as 2011-12 Coaches of the Year

Twenty-four coaches from around the state – including eight Northeast Ohioans – have been recognized by the National Federation of State High School Associations as 2011-12 Ohio Coaches of the Year in their respective sport.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association recommended these individuals to the NFHS based on nominations by each respective coaches association in the state.

Each of the individuals selected is being recognized and honored in grateful appreciation of outstanding service and unselfish devotion to interscholastic activities. In addition to the 24 state Coaches of the Year, the NFHS also selected seven Ohio coaches as Section 2 (Mideast Region) Coaches of the Year. The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections with Delaware, the District of Columbia, Kentucky, Maryland, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Ohio making up the Mideast Region.

The list of 2011-12 NFHS Coaches of the Year is listed below.

Boys Sports

Amos Allison, Boys Tennis, Upper Arlington High School

Vincent Ciroli, Boys Cross Country, St. Clairsville High School

Michael de Bear, Boys Swimming and Diving, Upper Arlington High School*

Bob Eisenbraun Jr., Boys Bowling, Struthers High School

Michael Jones, Boys Ice Hockey, Sylvania Northview High School

Michael Mauk, Football, Kenton High School

Casey Milligan, Boys Golf, Pickerington High School North*

Tom Neubert, Baseball, Columbus St. Francis DeSales High School*

Peter Pullen and Paul Laurence, Boys Basketball, Dayton Dunbar High School

Ed Rarey, Boys Track and Field (Outdoor), Gahanna Lincoln High School*

Jon Unger, Boys Soccer, Madeira High School

Louis (Greg) Urbas, Wrestling, Lakewood  St. Edward High School

Girls Sports

Diane Bell, Girls Track & Field (Outdoor), Gnadenhutten Indian Valley High School*

Dave Butcher, Girls Basketball, Pickerington High School North

Joe Corrigan, Girls Gymnastics, Mentor High School

Michael Haney, Girls Soccer, Cincinnati Mariemont High School

Kara Hardesty, Field Hockey, Bexley High School

Rick Hartings, Girls Bowling, Coldwater High School

Eldon Jones, Girls Cross Country, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas High School

Ronald Lehman, Volleyball,  Sunbury  Big Walnut High School

Diane McCall, Girls Golf, Canfield High School*

Jim Piazza, Softball, LaGrange Keystone High School*

A Stephen, Girls Tennis, Dublin Jerome High School

Kevin Yates, Girls Swimming and Diving, Granville High School *Also selected as a 2011-12 NFHS Section 2 (Mideast Region) Coach of the Year

For more Northeast Ohio high school sports news, scores, photos and videos, visit

!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);;js.src=”//”;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,”script”,”twitter-wjs”);


More USA TODAY High School Sports