Butkus Award Watch List: Florida, California and Ohio lead with most candidates

Butkus Award Watch List: Florida, California and Ohio lead with most candidates


Butkus Award Watch List: Florida, California and Ohio lead with most candidates

High school linebackers from 50 schools in 23 states are among the 51 players on the Butkus Award Watch List released Monday.

The Watch List features 51 players selected by a 51-person panel of experienced coaches, talent evaluators and journalists to mirror Butkus’ No. 51. A player does not have to be on the watch list to win the award.

Florida (7), California (6) and Ohio (5) have the most players on the watch list. Semifinalists will be named Oct. 30, finalists Nov. 20 and winners will be notified on or before Dec. 5.

Last year’s winner was Dylan Moses from IMG Academy (Bradenton, Fla.) who enrolled early at Alabama.

Merlin Robertson Junipero Serra Gardena CA
Raymond Scott Narbonne Harbor City CA
Abdul-Malik McClain JSerra Catholic San Juan Capistrano CA
Solomon Tuliaupupu Mater Dei Santa Ana CA
Jack Lamb Great Oak Temecula CA
Bo Calvert Oaks Christian Westlake Village CA
Adrian Jackson Mullen Denver CO
Mike Jones Jr. IMG Academy Bradenton FL
Kenny Batisda Deerfield Beach Deerfield Beach FL
Rosendo Louis Deerfield Beach Deerfield Beach FL
Nick Bonitto St. Thomas Aquinas Ft. Lauderdale FL
Donovan Georges Champagnat Catholic Hialeah FL
Eriq Gilyard Trinity Christian Academy Jacksonville FL
Andrew Chatfield American Heritage Plantation FL
Quay Walker Crisp County Cordele GA
Quin Williams Morgan County Madison GA
J.J. Peterson Colquitt County Norman Park GA
Dillon Doyle West Senior Iowa City IA
Jack Sanborn Lake Zurich Lake Zurich IL
Cameron McGrone Lawrence Central Indianapolis IN
Justice Dingle Bowling Green Bowling Green KY
Damone Clark Southern Lab Baton Rouge LA
Durell Nchami Paint Branch Burtonsville MD
DeAndre Square Cass Tech Detroit MI
Ovie Oghoufo Harrison Farmington Hills MI
Adyodele Adeoye Ritenour St. Louis MO
Alan Tisdale Page Greensboro NC
Dax Hollifield Shelby Shelby NC
Javar Garrett Peddie School Hightstown NJ
Shayne Simon St. Peter’s Prep Jersey City NJ
Vinny DePalma De Paul Catholic Wayne NJ
Palaie Gaoteote Bishop Gorman Las Vegas NV
Brandon Kaho Reno Reno NV
Dan Bolden Colerain Cincinnati OH
Chris Oats Winton Woods Cincinnati OH
Brian Asamoah St. Francis DeSales Columbus OH
Dallas Gant St. John’s Toledo OH
Xavier Peters Lakota West West Chester OH
Eli’Jah Winston Central Catholic Portland OR
Matthew Bauer Cathedral Prep School Erie PA
Jesse Luketa Mercyhurst Prep Erie PA
Nick Tarburton Pennridge Upper Perkasie PA
Jake Venables D.W. Daniel Central SC
Channing Tindall Spring Valley Columbia SC
Khalid Jones James Byrnes Duncan SC
Jackson Sirmon Brentwood Academy Nashville TN
Bumper Pool Lovejoy Lucas TX
Chad Bailey Ridge Point Missouri City TX
Tennessee Pututau Cottonwood Salt Lake City UT
K’Vaughan Pope Dinwiddie County Dinwiddie VA
Teradja Mitchell Bishop Sullivan Virginia Beach VA

Selectors and selection criteria are available at www.thebutkusaward.com


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Butkus Award Watch List: Florida, California and Ohio lead with most candidates
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.