All-State volleyball loaded with ECI players

All-State volleyball loaded with ECI players


All-State volleyball loaded with ECI players


The Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association released its volleyball All-State teams for the respective classes this week, and state champions Cowan and Wapahani led all programs statewide with five selections each.

All told, East Central Indiana accounted for nearly a quarter of the 96 honorees.

Nine players from ECI garnered first-team All-State accolades and another 11 were tabbed second-team All-State in their respective classes.

Cowan put two players on the Class A first team in senior setter Madisen Mangus and sophomore libero Valorie Flick. Mangus represented the Blackhawks on the second team last year.

Three Blackhawks, seniors Mallory Bruner and Kyanne Stewart and junior Kristina Flowers, joined Daleville libero Jaydica Morris and Union junior setter Lisa Rodriguez as ECI representatives on the Class A second team.

Wapahani topped all programs in the state with three first-team selections. Senior outside hitter Aubreigh Applegate, junior outside hitter Lindi Thomas and sophomore setter Kiley Lingenfelter represented the Raiders on the Class 2A first team. Thomas is a repeat selection. Two other Raiders, senior right-side hitter Brittany Cline and senior libero Paige Williamson, garnered second-team accolades.

Three area seniors received 3A first-team honors in Yorktown outside hitter Nikki Box, Central outside hitter Jaydn’ Pegues and Delta middle blocker Taylor Wright. Pegues is a repeat first-team selection. Wright was on the second-team and Box was honorable mention last year.

The liberos for each of those three programs, Yorktown senior Harlie Holding, Central junior Jessica Helms and Delta sophomore Teaghan Dishman, made second-team All-State.

New Castle junior outside hitter Lauryn Gillis took 4A first-team honors. Her teammate, senior setter Taylor Patterson, notched second-team honors. Both players made the exact same teams last season.

The ICGSA selected three area coaches as the best in their respective classes. Pancho Alvarez (Cowan), Stephanie Bloom (Yorktown) and Mike Lingenfelter (Wapahani) each won state coach of the year awards.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
All-State volleyball loaded with ECI players
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit