Cross country: WLA boys win Sheboygan Lutheran race; Springs girls second

Cross country: WLA boys win Sheboygan Lutheran race; Springs girls second


Cross country: WLA boys win Sheboygan Lutheran race; Springs girls second


The Winnebago Lutheran boys won a 28-team cross country invite on Tuesday and had the individual winner.

Mitchell Bilitz ran 16 minutes, 6 seconds to win the race by 40 seconds and set a course record in the process. WLA scored 105 points as a team, beating runner-up Sheboygan Lutheran by 10 points.

After Bilitz, Kettle Moraine Lutheran’s Garrett Miller took second in 16:46. WLA’s next fastest runner was Eric Bilitz, who placed fourth in 17 minutes. Brady Kollmann from WLA was the next fastest area runner at 17:57. He took 16th.

St. Lawrence was sixth led by Joe Nguyen’s 21st place (18:06). Eric Urness ran 18:13 for 24th for the Hilltoppers’ next best run.

Springs came in 11 led by Andrew Skiff, who placed 23rd in 18:10. Alan Burkart was 26th in 18:17 for the Ledgers.

Campbellsport finished 13th led by Chase Lindgren’s 63rd place (19:38), while Alec Reimer finished next at 64th (19:39).

North Fondy placed 20th led by Ryan Easterson’s 40th place in 18:52. Christian Schumann came in 81st (20:11).

Central Wisconisin Christian ran an incomplete team. Luke Jonker placed 49th in 19:19.


Living Word Lutheran won the team title with 82 points.

Springs took second at 108 points led by Liz Bohn’s second place in 15:50. Abby Busse was Springs’ next fastest ni fourth place (16:17).

“The girls looked a bit tired overall,” said Springs coach Shane Smith. “Had they ran what they did last Saturday I believe we could have won this thing. A second-place finish is pretty solid though in a big meet like this … Liz Bohn had a great race (personal record by 17 seconds) and looked strong and comfortable the whole time. Had she had another 300 meters to run I think she could have beat the (winner).”

WLA was the next best area team, collecting a sixth place led by Abaigeal Theander’s 14th place (17:42). Mariah Giffey was 22nd for WLA at 18:05.

Campbellsport took 15th place. Lizzy Fellion was 68th in 19:31, and Brianna Gruenwald was 82nd (20:16).

CWC ran an incomplete team but had Hannah Roddy placed 38th (18:44). North Fondy also ran an incomplete team. Jenny Schwersinski placed 79th (20:06). Victorya Kalashanikova was 102nd for North Fondy (21:13).

Waupun Invite

Waupun’s boys team cruised to a title, while Mayville was runner-up in the boys and girls meet.

The Warriors occupied the top two spots and five of the top nine.

Andrew Klapper ran in 16:59 to beat his teammate Bryce Verheyen by 52 seconds. Waupun also got solid runs from Josh Knowlton (sixth, 18:40), Matt Kuik (eighth, 18:46), and Noah Giebink (ninth, 18:52).

Chance Feller led Mayville with a third-place finish in 18 minutes. Tate Hillmann paced fourth-place Markesan with his run of 18:48 for eighth individually.

In the girls race, Mayville was second, Waupun took third, and Markesan was sixth. Luther Prep won the meet and had seven of the top nine places.

Mayville’s Brittaney Danner was third individually in 17:57, and Alyssa Halverson took 12th in 18:43. Hannah Smith (sixth, 18:17) and Ronna Woock (10th, 18:35 led Waupun, while Hailey Drager’s 20th placed time of 19:58 was the best for Markesan.


More USA TODAY High School Sports