Fraley and Bourne earn top honors

Fraley and Bourne earn top honors


Fraley and Bourne earn top honors



David Fraley and Kevin Bourne each led his team to a piece of the Mid-State League-Ohio Division title.

The seniors were honored Tuesday for their impressive regular season. Granville’s Fraley was named the Division III Central District offensive player of the year by The Associated Press, and Bourne was named the Division VI defensive player of the year. Licking Heights’ Darren Waters was the top coach in Division II, and J.R. Wait earned the honor in Division III.

Fraley threw for 2,291 yards and 28 touchdowns during the regular season. He also ran for 406 yards and five touchdowns in helping the Blue Aces to a 9-1 finish and the third MSL-Ohio title in four seasons.

Bourne was a big-play machine as a third-year starter at safety. He had five interceptions, returning two for scores, and he returned two fumbles for touchdowns. He also scored eight times as a runner, four times as a receiver and once as a kick returner in leading the Green Wave to their first MSL-Ohio title.

Licking Valley senior Drew McArtor helped the Panthers to the third piece of the MSL-Ohio title, running for 1,527 yards and 22 touchdowns, and he joined Fraley on the first time in Division III.

Other first-teamers were Valley linemen Jacob Cotrell and Nathan McCown and Granville receiver Ajay Alderman, defensive back Steven Carpenter and linebacker Clayton Plute. Second-teamers in Division III were Granville receiver Hunter Orth, defensive back Josh Link, linebacker Gabe Parini and defensive lineman Tucker McKenzie and Valley lineman Caleb Nethers, receiver Tyler Griffith and defensive back Devin Carr.

The NC defense had three first-teamers in Division VI. Joining Bourne were fellow safety Mike Lohr and linebacker Spencer Magers. Lineman Brenden Jurden and punter Chayce Crouch also were named to the first team. No second team was awarded in Division VI.

Waters led Heights to a 10-0 regular season, the program’s third playoff appearance in school history and first MSL-Cardinal title in 20 years. Heights players earning first-team honors in Division II were linemen Willie Carter and Steven Clum, defensive back Ron Carruthers-Kimball and linebacker Matt Mayville.

Watkins Memorial running back Brenden Kemp also was named to the first team, rushing for 1,605 yards and 17 touchdowns. Watkins lineman Boban Stepanovich and linebacker Jake Sanders were named to the second team.

The Johnstown backfield duo of quarterback Tyler Thompson and running back Cody Farley, who combined for 2,360 yards and 24 touchdowns rushing in helping the Johnnies to an 8-2 regular season and another playoff appearance, were named to the first team in Division IV. Other Johnstown first-teamers were lineman Dakota Crawford, defensive back Nick Sadinsky and linebacker Corbin Grassman. Charles Benton also was named to the first team as the punter.

Heath running back Donyelle Simpson ran for 1,991 yards and 19 touchdowns and was named to the first team along with lineman Connor Thrush, linebacker Adam Hunt and defensive back Marc Manning. No second team was named.

Defensive back Dominique Shackleford and linebacker Jacob Jones were special mention selections to lead Newark in Division I.

Sheridan was led by Connor Smith 5-10, 175, senior on the Southeast District first team as a lineman.


More USA TODAY High School Sports