Locals take home MSL honors

Locals take home MSL honors


Locals take home MSL honors



Area athletes across all sports received their first batch of postseason recognition.

The Mid-State League announced its postseason awards Wednesday. Bloom-Carroll’s Cassie Hughes won player of the year honors in volleyball, and Maggie Loeffler won the award in girls soccer for the Buckeye Division.

“I couldn’t be happier with the awards,” Bulldogs girls soccer coach Mark Casperson said. “Getting player of the year as a junior us a big deal, and Maggie was definitely deserving of the award.”

Fisher Catholic freshman Blake Saffell won player of the year honors in boys golf in the Cardinal Division. Saffell led the Irish to a team title as Fisher Catholic was 17-1 in league play.

Two Bloom-Carroll coaches earned Coach of the Year honors in the MSL-Buckeye: April Redding (volleyball) and Casperson.

“We’re absolutely thrilled with how we did in the league,” said Casperson, whose Bulldogs went 6-0 in the league to claim their first outright team championship. “We came in with the goal of winning the league, and we were able to do it.”

Fisher Catholic’s Travis Saffell won coach of the year honors in boys golf in the MSL-Cardinal. Liberty Union’s Dan Johnson and Bloom-Carroll’s Phil Mauro won the George Murphy Award for football coach of the year in the Cardinal and Buckeye divisions, respectively.

Four Lions made first-team All-MSL-Cardinal in football: Justin Reeves, Jesse Shirey, Luke Hannan and Aaron Goodman. Other area players on first team were the Irish’s Derrick Schneider and Glen Tipton, Berne Union’s Jordan Blevins and Jacob Lape and Millersport’s Alex Blake.

Liberty Union’s Makiah Sorrell, Corey Miller, Justin Barber and Adam Snyder were second-team selections, as were Fisher Catholic’s Joe Delisio, Matt Leckrone and Ben Kerns, the Rockets’ Nate Zody and Cody Woodgeard and the Lakers’ Clayton Moore and Jonah Butts.

In Buckeye Division football, Canal Winchester’s Deontaye Cosby, Jaquan Ransome, Nick Toledo, Ian Jones and Josh Miller made first team. They were joined by Bloom-Carroll’s Zack Jude and Tyler Sorg, Amanda-Clearcreek’s Nick Brumfield and Taylor Mets and Fairfield Union’s Josh Stewart. Five other Indians (Zach Morehead, John Franklin, Keenan Tate, Khari Golden and Skyler Scott) made second team, as did the Bulldogs’ Dalton Vannatta, Kyle Woods and Josh Ball, the Aces’ Austin Reid and Grant Brown and the Falcons’ Sam Green and David Wolshire.

In girls soccer, Loeffler was joined by her teammates Alexis McKenzie and Catherine Fisher on first team All-MSL-Buckeye and Ellyse McKenzie, Kennedy Jackson and Bethany Winkler on the second team. Dayle Hedges and Heather Leddingham, from Amanda-Clearcreek and Fairfield Union’s Nichole Huston also were first-team picks. The Aces’ Sarah LaRue and Lacey Burkholder and the Falcons’ Carly Rose were named to the second team.

In Cardinal Division girls soccer, Fisher Catholic’s Annie Meachan and Mara McGee were first-team selections, as was Liberty Union’s Autumn Mitchell. The Irish’s Kelly McGee and Grace Changet and the Lions’ Abby Lindsey were named to the second team.

Bloom-Carroll Nick Casto and Thomas Robinson were first-team All-MSL-Buckeye selections in boys soccer. Matt Appel and Ryan Miller, from Canal Winchester, and Ben Hultz, from Fairfield Union, also were on the first team. The Bulldogs’ Nick Hedges and Kolin Petty, the Indians’ Noah Ising and Joe Nichols and the Falcons’ Ben Verdow and Jared Aebi were second-team picks.

Fisher Catholic’s Nick Klitzka and Eli Frazier were first-team boys soccer selections in the Cardinal Division, as was Liberty Union’s Braham Glasgow. The Irish’s Zach Dryden and Nick Santino and the Lions’ DJ Kimmle and Kyle Nugent made the second team.

Bloom-Carroll’s volleyball team went undefeated in the MSL-Buckeye for the second consecutive year, and the Bulldogs garnered three first-team selections: Cassie Hughes, Taylor Hughes and Logan Stevens. Amanda-Clearcreek’s Kacee Salyers, Fairfield Union’s Taylor Marshall and Canal Winchester’s Rachel Dosch also were first-team honorees. The Bulldogs’ Samantha Hurdzan and Haylea VanScoy, the Aces’ Mariah Compton and Alana Smith and the Falcons’ Caitlin Salyers made second team.

Berne Union’s Jessica Grubb made the first team in the Cardinal Division and was joined by Sarah Feyko (Liberty Union) and Cori Walters (Fisher Catholic). Liberty Union’s Jamie Jasper and Fisher Catholic’s Sarah Wood made second team.

In boys golf, Millersport’s Adam Reinhorn, Liberty Union’s Eric Bibler and Fisher Catholic’s Aaron Wood and Shea McGuire made first team. Kyle Kilbarger and Cole Hensley (Fisher Catholic), Dylan Kull and Kyle Smith (Liberty Union) and Kevin Schneider (Millersport) made second team in the Cardinal Division. In the Buckeye Division, Fairfield Union’s Jordan Barr and Caleb Herd made first team, as did Bloom-Carroll’s Bryce Walters. The Falcons’ trio of Devin Munyan, Steven Noble and Colin Jessup made second team.

Bloom-Carroll’s Taylor Thomas made first team in Buckeye Division girls tennis, and Katie Sylvester from Fisher Catholic made second team in the Cardinal Division.




Twitter: @Vince_EGSports


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Locals take home MSL honors
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.