Louisville area runners compete in Nike Cross Nationals

Louisville area runners compete in Nike Cross Nationals


Louisville area runners compete in Nike Cross Nationals


The Louisville Track Club, with winners from Assumption and St. Xavier high schools, finished 10th in the girls’ race and 14th in the boys’ race at Saturday’s Nike Cross Nationals in Portland, Ore.

The event is considered the national championship for high school cross country teams.

Manlius of Fayetteville, N.Y., won the girls’ team title with 54 points. The Louisville squad finished with 274.

Bailey Davis paced the Louisville team, finishing 36th with a time of 20 minutes, 31 seconds. Rounding out the Louisville team were Emily Bean (89th, 21:36), Katherine Receveur (108th, 21:54), Kenzley Defler (119th, 22:04), Olivia Boughey (120th, 22:05), Kate Crawford (132nd, 22:20) and Abbie Wright (162nd, 23:00).

Sarah Baxter of Simi Valley, Calif., won the individual title in 19:17.

Arcadia (Calif.) won the boys’ title with 108 points. The Louisville team had 322 points.

Sam Lewis led the Louisville squad, finishing 16th with a time of 17:40. Other finishers for the Louisville squad were Connor Sheryak (58th, 18:13), Chris Streigel (65th, 18:20), Max Mudd (158th, 19:29), Thomas Cave (168th, 19:43), Mark Johnson (175th, 19:52) and Nick Reader (183rd, 20:09).

Sam Wharton of Tipp City, Ohio, won the individual title in 17:06.

All-Star football game

The Greater Louisville Football Coaches Association’s Shively Sporting Goods East-West All-Star Game is set for 2 p.m. today at Fairdale.

The game will include several of the top seniors from the Louisville area. Moore’s Eric Dick will coach the East team. Western’s Torrey Shinholster will coach the West.

* East: Khalil Bourn (Nelson County), Anthony Doran (Bullitt East), Austin Gahafer (St. Xavier), Dreshawn Kinslow (Fern Creek), Tyler Owen (Ballard), K.J. McElvaney (Jeffersontown), Tony Brackins (South Oldham), Josh Smith (North Oldham), Koron Cole (Ballard), Brady Nagel (Fern Creek), Cody Elbert (North Oldham), Travis Downing (North Bullitt), Leoncio Daniels (Moore), Austin Chelf (Christian Academy), Chris Henderson (Waggener), Jacob Taylor (Oldham County), Dalton Goodlet (Spencer County), Domonick Wright (Fern Creek), Tyler Craigmyle (Henry County), Gage Logsdon (Bullitt East), Devin Watson (Jeffersontown), Tobias Mack (Moore), Tanner Williams (North Oldham), Chauncey Sellers (Waggener), Michael Cottrell (Seneca), John Hook (North Bullitt), Ben Ingabrand-Armstrong (Henry County), Zachary Lingle (Shelby County), James Morris (Seneca), Hunter Trenaman (Christian Academy), Gage Daniels (Spencer County), John Popovich (Christian Academy), Tom Singer (South Oldham), Nathan Hilliard (Moore), Michael Barry (Shelby County), Tyrone Stallard (Waggener), Breden Lacer-Hallback (Atherton), Collin Crawford (Bethlehem), Simeon Colyer (Atherton), Salvador Lopez (Moore).

* West: Joseph Foster (Western), Jake Wilson (Meade County), Boo Crabtree (Fairdale), J.D. Morgan (Butler), Jordan Willenborg (Holy Cross), Josh Williams (Elizabethtown), Brian Hobbs (Manual), Montay McCrary (Western), Justin Thomas (Butler), Chiquan McCallie (Western), Terrance Taylor (Shawnee), Zach Bogard (Meade County), James Jarvis (DeSales), Paul Logsdon (Butler), John Clark (Meade County), Collin Taylor (Doss), Collie Taylor (Doss), Jordan Mattingly (Male), Evan Nord (DeSales), Day Ron Woods (Iroquois), Ryan Webb (Meade County), Jaylen Weeden (Western), Langston Scott (Male), Kenny Harris (Butler), Nathan Bowman (Butler), Corey Dobbs (Central Hardin), Derrick Ferkins (Butler), Dasmond Morris (Shawnee), Maurice Ponder (DeSales), Jeremy Flener (Bullitt Central), Leighton Scales (Valley), Austin Page (Butler), James Yarbrough (Doss), Rory Armes (Breckinridge County), Ronnell Colbert (Doss), Tyler Erny (Male), Rashaan Allen (Fort Knox), James Howard (Valley), Dylan Downs (Bullitt Central), Caleb Canter (LaRue County), William Jarshow (Central Hardin), Michael Nelson (Manual), Aaron Start (Fort Knox), Antonio Turner (Western), Brady Carwile (Breckinridge County).


More USA TODAY High School Sports