Mr. Football finalists announced

Mr. Football finalists announced


Mr. Football finalists announced


The finalists for the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards were named Thursday, and 10 were from Midstate high schools.

They will be presented to the top 10 backs and linemen in five classifications on Monday, Nov, 26 at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center in Murfreesboro.

A committee of statewide sports writers, including The Tennessean, selected winners based on performance in the 2012 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

This is the 28th year for the Mr. Football Awards.

Here are the finalists:


Class A: Malik Brewer, Boyd Buchanan; Tyler Coen, Gordonsville; Tanner Martin, Friendship

Class AA: Brett Kendrick, CAK; Thomas Loy, Alcoa; Brandon Walters, Howard

Class AAA: Frank Herron, Memphis Central, Austin Sanders, Bradley Central, Logan Teichmann, Brentwood

DII-A: Chase Hensley, USJ, Walker Jones, ECS, Dylan Young, St. George’s

DII-AA: Derek Barnett, Brentwood Acad.; Peyton Klawinski, MUS; Michael Sawyers, Ensworth


Class A: Demetric Johnson, South Pittsburg; Will McKamey, Grace Christian; Jacob Warbritton, Huntingdon

Class AA: Al Cobb, Giles Co.; Charlie High, CAK; Johnston White, Covington

Class AAA: Mark Dodson, Whitehaven; Jalen Hurd, Beech; Brent Stockstill, Siegel

DII-A: Todd Kelly, Knox Webb; Brent Rooker, ECS; Powers Spencer, USJ

DII-AA: Cornelius Elder, Ensworth; Jalen Ramsey, Brentwood Acad,; Jordan Rodgers, MUS


Rafael Gaglianone, Baylor; Jonathan King, Farragut; C.J. Stafford, Houston


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Mr. Football finalists announced
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit