Prep athletics: Lutheran's Menk selected as finalist for prestigious award

Prep athletics: Lutheran's Menk selected as finalist for prestigious award


Prep athletics: Lutheran's Menk selected as finalist for prestigious award


As the competition narrows for this year’s Wendy’s High School Heisman Award program, 20 of Wisconsin’s top scholar-athletes were announced today as State Finalists for the prestigious award, including Manitowoc Lutheran’s David Menk.

Menk and the fellow finalists are now in the running to become State Winners, the next phase of the program as applicants advance to become National Winners.

Of the 45,000 seniors who applied nationwide, 610 applicants came from Wisconsin and have been narrowed down to the state’s 20 finalists. The finalists were chosen based on their hard work and dedication through their achievements in athletics, academics and community and school leadership.

Just as the collegiate Heisman is known for being the highest award in college football, the Wendy’s High School Heisman, now in its 19h year, is one of the most esteemed awards at the high school level. On November 5, one male and one female finalist from each state will be named State Winners.

Of those State Winners, 12 will be chosen as National Finalists and will go on to compete for the National Winner title in New York City on December 7. National Finalists will be featured during a televised ceremony on ESPN networks and will receive gold medals and $2,000 awards for their high schools.

One male and one female National Winner will receive a crystal Wendy’s High School Heisman trophy, a $500 gift certificate to Wendy’s, and Wendy’s will donate $10,000 to each winner’s respective high school. Additionally, the winners will be recognized during the collegiate Heisman Trophy broadcast on ESPN, December 8.

Created in 1994 by Wendy’s and the Heisman Memorial Trust, the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award recognizes outstanding high school seniors nationwide who excel in athletics, academics and community leadership.

Students can nominate themselves for the award online, in addition to being recommended by principals, teachers, guidance counselors and coaches. Students are then selected to advance during extensive judging processes conducted at both state and national levels.




Sarah Benson, Northwood School; Kalyn Kamps, Belmont High School; Hannah Hodges, Sheboygan North High School; Abigail Kunz, New Berlin West High School; Micaela Creighton, South Milwaukee Senior High School; Becca Keller, Lake Mills High School; Paige Skorseth, River Falls Senior High School; Caitlynne Naughton, Neillsville High School; Kira Dittman, Edgar High School; Elizabeth Manlick, Columbus High School; Austin Meyer, Northwood School; Riley Tuma, Shawano Community High School; David Menk, Manitowoc Lutheran High School; Cody Risseeuw, Clinton Senior High School; Ethan Brownell, Pewaukee High School; Timothy Bahr, Lake Country Lutheran High School; Trevor Secraw, Colfax High School; Justis Hagberg, Cameron High School; Hayden Krueger, Crandon High School; Collin Seubert, Marathon Senior High School


More USA TODAY High School Sports