Prep wrestling roundup: Oostburg wins own 10-team invite

Prep wrestling roundup: Oostburg wins own 10-team invite


Prep wrestling roundup: Oostburg wins own 10-team invite


Oostburg dominated its own 10-team wrestling invitational on Saturday, with none of its competitors finishing worse than fifth place in their weight class.

The Flying Dutchmen finished with 237 team points, well ahead of second-place Johnson Creek. Local teams Plymouth and Sheboygan North finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

For Oostburg, Sam Loomins (113 pounds), Alex Korthals (120), Brandon Burmesch (126), Jordan Blok (195) and Jesse Rogers (285) earned individual titles, while second-place finishes went to Ryan Ebling (152), Charlie Yeadon (160) and Austin Portschy (182). Roman Katzer (132) and Cody Mullikin (170) earned thirds.

“It was a good day for us,” Oostburg coach Steve Rogers said. “I thought we wrestled well.”

Plymouth’s lone champion was Jakob Ohman, at 152.

Bryce Lueck (170) finished second, while Panthers teammates Keagan Gustin (113), Trevor Miske (138), Christian Flores (160) and Ryan Brooks (195) took thirds.

Aaron Rothwell scored North’s individual title at 182, while teammates Dan Mobley (195) and Evan Mahn (285) were second and Quentin Segovia (106) and Ian Gordziej (220) were third.

Team scores: Oostburg 237, Johnson Creek 149, Princeton 137.5, Plymouth 128, Sheboygan North 125.5, Waterloo 112, Fox Valley Lutheran 83, Hustisford 23, Milwaukee Lutheran 21, Appleton Xavier 15.

Preble Invite

Ozaukee finished fourth and Sheboygan South took sixth at the 17-team Willard Schmidt Scramble in Green Bay.

Colton Kraus (113) and Logan Smith (145) each won individual titles for the Warriors. Kraus won three of his matches by pin while Smith posted four pinfalls.

For South, Andrew Wildman won the championship at 170, with two pins on the day.

Matt Rogers (145), Gunnar Joosse (160) and Steve Rodriguez (195) all took fourth for the Redwings.

Also for Ozaukee, Cole Large (126) took second, Kevin Beckmann (160) was third and Taz Gottsacker (132) finished fourth.

Team scores: Chilton 476.5; Lomira 437.5; Green Bay Preble/East 387.5; Ozaukee 371.5; Kaukauna 365.5; Sheboygan South 301; Green Bay West/Southwest 298; Oconto 259.5; Waupaca 235; Medford 230; Eau Claire Memorial 212; Lakeland 208.5; Weyauwega-Fremont 206; Luxemburg-Casco 202.5; Sturgeon Bay 161; Wabeno 160.5; Lena 138.

Marty Loy Classic

Alex Fitzgerald posted a second-place finish to lead Sheboygan Falls to 10th as a team at the 25-team invite in Fond du Lac.

Fitzgerald (132) won twice by major decision before falling to Manitowoc’s Zac Youngchild in the finals.

Mitchell Lambrecht (160) and Drew Setzer (195) each took third while Ryan McGinnes took fourth at 113 for Falls.

Random Lake took 15th as a team, led by Jon Mudlaff (106), who took second with a major decision and a tech fall along with two wins by decision on the day.

Trent Gottsacker (120) also had a strong day, finishing fourth for the Rams.

Team scores: Wausau West 284.5; Hudson 191; Badger 155; Port Washington 143; Menomonie 131; Sauk Prairie 126.5; Burlington 123; Lodi 114; Wrightstown 112; Sheboygan Falls 109.5; Menomonee Falls 99; Oconomowoc 92; Stevens Point 92; Kewaskum 72.5; Random Lake 70.5; Westby 58; Mosinee 50.5; Manitowoc 46; DeForest 39.5; Westfield 29; Wild Rose/Wautoma 19; Denmark 13; Fond du Lac 6, Oak Creek 3, Winnebago Lutheran Academy 0.

Kewaunee Invite

Brothers Aaron and Austin Field each won the title at their respective weight classes to lead Kiel to a third-place finish at the 11-team invite.

Austin Field was dominant throughout the day, winning all five matches by pinfall in a total time of 3:29. Aaron Field won four matches by pin en route to the title.

Also posting top-four finishes for the Raiders were Jordan Ausloos (132, second), Jay Wallace (152, second), Tanner Woepse (113, third), Evan Nordby (160, fourth) and Matt Halverson (285, fourth).

Cedar Grove-Beligum was led by Adam Gonwa (106) and Matt Krier (182), who each took third. Greg Wenzel finished fourth at 170.

Team scores: Two Rivers 302; Seymour 195.5; Kiel 176; Southern Door 163.5; Kewaunee 146; Bay Port 111.5; Brillion 96; Gillett/Suring 94; West De Pere 94; Cedar Grove-Belgium 73; Roncalli 33.

Beaver Dam Invite

New Holstein’s Cole Fritsch led the charge for the Huskies, finishing third at 145 at the Wickersham Memorial Christmas Classic.

Also for New Holstein, Sam Klebar (120) and Adam Lisowe (138) took fourth.

Team scores: Arrowhead 205; Beaver Dam 107.5; Waupun 152.5; Shiocton 124; Neenah 101; Valders 84.5; Winneconne 84.5; Markesan 72; Dodgeland 55; New Holstein 44.


More USA TODAY High School Sports