Scotties highlight All-MVL selections

Scotties highlight All-MVL selections


Scotties highlight All-MVL selections


Winning consecutive league titles has provided Tri-Valley with plenty of leverage in the Muskingum Valley League.

The Scotties were rewarded again this year. Another 8-0 league campaign has led to several top honors and nine players on the first team as the All-MVL football squad was released recently.

Tri-Valley senior running back/linebacker Austin Jones was the league’s Player of the Year and Linebacker of the Year. Senior quarterback Nathan Strock was the Offensive Back of the Year, junior Collin Prouty earned Offensive Lineman of the Year, and senior Trevor Krouskoupf was named Receiver of the Year. Justin Buttermore also garnered Coach of the Year honors after the Scotties posted the first 10-0 season in school history.

New Lexington senior Logan Waite was the Defensive Back of the Year, John Glenn senior Brian Doane was selected as the Defensive Lineman of the Year, John Glenn juniors Matt Tom and Ross Mathews were named Punter and Kicker of the Year, respectively.

Jones, Strock, Krouskoupf and Prouty were joined by teammates Daniel Sensabaugh, Seth Brock, Adam Reiss, Kris Michael and Tyler Edwards-Frick on the first team.

Other first-team selections included Maysville’s Jordan Hayes, Dylan Evans, Justin Wilson, Brandon Bush, C.J. Harris and Joe Kelly; Choya Gill, Kaleb Wiseman, Chase Hambel, Zak Sheridan and Nathan Delozier from Philo; New Lexington’s Waite, Alex Bryant, Taylor Brown, Ryan Lewis and Casey Gilligan; John Glenn’s Doane, Blake Atkins, Gage Snider, Jordan Halasi and Grant Hall; Joe Eversole, Connor Smith and Aaron Slatzer from Sheridan; Crooksville’s Mitchell Swingle, Lake Channel and Sean Elliott; Justin Head and Kaleb Driggs of Morgan; and Grant Pumphrey and Josh Brennan from West M.

Special mention went to Tri-Valley’s Devin Moran and Jon Burwell; Eli Chambers and Mason Deaver of Maysville; Hunter Smith and Elijah Talk from Philo; New Lex’s Jerald Spohn and Tommy Russell; John Glenn’s Cole Bennett and C.J. LaCroix; Sheridan’s R.J. Waugh and Tate Leavitt; Dylan Love and Austin Ebert from Crooksville; Austin Campbell and Dakota Westfall of Morgan; and West Muskingum’s Jake Adlesic and Seth Mirgon.

Honorable mention included Jon Alford of Tri-Valley, Austin Knowlden from Maysville, Casey Mayle of Philo, Braxton Cannon from New Lex, John Glenn’s Ryan Patterson, Chase Heath from Sheridan, Aaron Keister of Crooksville, Malachi Maxwell from Morgan and West M’s Ian Chambers.


More USA TODAY High School Sports