Softball: Horicon's Loew named Flyway's best

Softball: Horicon's Loew named Flyway's best


Softball: Horicon's Loew named Flyway's best


Horicon High School won the Wisconsin Flyway Conference softball championship this season with a 15-1 league record.

That is why four Horicon players earned first-team honors, and two of those players were unanimous selections by league coaches.

Taylor Loew was named the league’s Player of the Year, and Horicon pitcher Brie Hechimovich was a unanimous selection. There were six unanimous picks on the first team including Sammi Kraus from Winnebago Lutheran, Emily Neitzel of Lomira and Paige Giese of Mayville.

Mayville took second place in the final league standings at 14-2. Senior Kayla Kempfer joined Giese, a junior, on the first team.

Katie Tighe, a senior, made the first team for Lomira, joining Neitzel, a senior infielder.

Laconia senior Katelyn Dins and Springs freshman Kelli Schrauth rounded out the area first-team selections.

Winnebago Lutheran didn’t have another first-teamer besides the junior Kraus, but senior Jordyn Wege made the second team.

Laconia had two second-teamers: Kayla Jacob and Nikki Guell for the Spartans, who went 10-6 in the league for fourth place.

Natalie Neitzel was a second-teamer for Lomira. The Lions went 9-7 in Flyway play.

Libby Schellpfeffer and Amanda Schultz were second-team selections from Mayville.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Softball: Horicon's Loew named Flyway's best
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit