Wildcats, Spartans fill all-FVA tennis squads

Wildcats, Spartans fill all-FVA tennis squads


Wildcats, Spartans fill all-FVA tennis squads


Oshkosh West and Oshkosh North were well represented on the all-Fox Valley Association teams released recently.

The Wildcats placed four of their seven honorees on the first team, while the Spartans had nine players earn some level of mention.

West’s state place-winning No. 1 doubles team of juniors Hannah Dexheimer and Bailey Sagen were first-team selections along with junior Abbey Vadnais at No. 3 singles and freshman Danielle Hawi at No. 4 singles.

Spartans’ freshman Lesley Kutnink joined Hawi and Neenah’s Megan Nasr as the No. 4 singles first-team selection.

North sophomores Meg Hartzell and Alyssa Schafer were the second-team honorees at No. 1 doubles, while senior Alicia Craig and sophomore Katie Buege of West were the second-team selections at No. 2 doubles.

Earning honorable mention honors for the Wildcats was No. 1 singles player Liz Edsell, a junior. North’s honorable mention honorees were junior Alyssa Hardell (No. 2 singles), senior Maggie Haveland (No. 3 singles), junior Samantha Barker and senior Kaylee Glatting at No. 2 doubles and junior Casey Dunbar and senior Morgan Cannon at No. 3 doubles.


First team

Singles: No. 1 — Nicole Feltz, soph., Fond du Lac; No. 2 — Katherine Ake, sr., Neenah; No. 3 — Abbey Vadnais, jr., Oshkosh West; No. 4 — Megan Nasr, fr., Neenah, Lesley Kutnink, fr., Oshkosh North, Danielle Hawi, fr., Oshkosh West.

Doubles: No. 1 — Hannah Dexheimer, jr./Bailey Sagen, jr., Oshkosh West; No. 2 — Courtney Burkett, jr./Claudia Koehn, sr., Neenah; No. 3 — Maddy Keider, jr./Natalie Ake, soph., Neenah.

Second team

Singles: No. 1 — Jenny Price, soph., Neenah; No. 2 — Haley Reinke, sr., Kimberly; No. 3 — Sarah Smaby, sr., Neenah.

Doubles: No. 1 — Meg Hartzell, soph./Alyssa Schafer, soph., Oshkosh North; No. 2 — Katie Buege, soph./Alicia Craig, sr., Oshkosh West; No. 3 — Haley Nett, sr./Alex Dorn, soph., Kimberly.

Honorable Mention

Singles: No. 1 — Kelly Stymiest, sr., Appleton North, Carly Van Nuland, sr., Kimberly, Liz Edsell, jr., Oshkosh West; No. 2 — Alyssa Hardel, jr., Oshkosh North; No. 3 — Maggie Haverland, sr., Oshkosh North.

Doubles: No. 1 — Erin Cole, sr./Emily Nett, sr., Fond du Lac, Katherine Bosio, sr./Emily Glassco, sr., Neenah; No. 2 — Samantha Barker, jr./Kaylee Glatting, sr., Oshkosh North; No. 3 — Casey Dunbar, jr./Morgan Cannon, sr., Oshkosh North.


Lourdes Academy’s state qualifier Lianna Hawi and the Ripon doubles team of Kaylee Johnson and Savannah Skamra earned first team honors in the Wisconsin Combined Tennis Conference.

The Knights also had singles players Allison Resop and the doubles team of Michelle McDonald and Angela Moore were named to the second team. Ripon’s Laura Lyke also earned second-team honors.

Local players on the honorable mention list were the doubles team of Liz Glowcheski and Jeanne Dishaw of Lourdes, Annie Doctor of Ripon and the Tigers’ doubles team of Emily Doctor and Alex Will.


More USA TODAY High School Sports