American Family Insurance all-USA Press-Gazette Media girls basketball team

American Family Insurance all-USA Press-Gazette Media girls basketball team


American Family Insurance all-USA Press-Gazette Media girls basketball team


First team

Morgan Anderson, sr., De Pere: The Michigan Tech recruit averaged 13.4 points, 3.5 assists and 2.8 steals per game in the Fox River Classic Conference, where she earned first-team honors and was named defensive player of the year. The Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association selected her as a Division 1 all-state choice.

Kayla Dawson, sr., De Pere: The Grand Valley State recruit averaged 15.1 points and 6.8 rebounds per game to help the Redbirds win the title in the FRCC, where she was a first-team pick in addition to receiving honorable-mention D1 all-state from the WBCA.

Natisha Hiedeman, so., Green Bay Southwest: Averaged 16.1 points per game to lead the FRCC, where she was a first team all-conference selection. Tallied 30 points during an upset of Bay Port in February, which ultimately helped the Trojans finish tied for fourth in the league after an eighth-place finish last year.

Laken James, jr., Oconto: Earned D4 all-state from the WBCA after leading the Blue Devils to their first sectional final appearance since 1980. Averaged 15.5 points, 7.2 rebounds and 4.6 assists per game as a unanimous first-team all-Packerland Conference player.

McKenna Larsen, jr., Oconto Falls: Led the Bay Conference by averaging 17.1 points, 4.7 assists and 5.0 steals per game as a unanimous first-team player. Received honorable-mention D2 all-state from WBCA.

Allie LeClaire, jr., G.B. Notre Dame: The UWGB recruit and FRCC player of the year shot 58.7 percent from the field, including 32.1 percent from 3-point range, in averaging 15.5 points in addition to 3.6 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 2.9 steals per game this season. A D2 all-state pick from the WBCA.

Chelsea Nooker, sr., Bay Port: The St. Cloud State recruit led the FRCC by averaging 4.4 assists and 4.1 steals per game in addition to 15.0 points and 5.9 rebounds as a first-team player. Received honorable-mention D1 all-state from WBCA.

Alex Richard, sr., Kewaunee: A unanimous all-Packerland choice, the 6-foot post player averaged 12.7 points and 6.0 rebounds per game. Received honorable-mention D3 all-state from WBCA and finished her career with a game-winning layup for the D3 title.

Taylor Schmidt, sr., Algoma: The Packerland player of the year was a unanimous first-team choice after averaging 13.6 points, 4.4 assists and 3.4 rebounds per game in league play. The UW-Oshkosh recruit was a unanimous D4 all-state choice by the WBCA.

Kelsey Stangel, sr., Kewaunee: The WIAA state tournament MVP and D3 all-state pick by the WBCA shot 58.9 percent from the field, including 33.3 percent from 3-point range. The first team all-Packerland choice averaged 13.7 points, 8.5 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 1.6 assists per game.

Freshman of the year:
Anna Dier, Algoma — Inserted into the starting lineup midway through the season, she provided another scoring presence inside with her 5-foot-11 frame to help the Wolves win their first state title since 1986.

Coach of the year:
Sara Rohde, Green Bay Notre Dame — The Associated Press coach of the year led the Tritons back to state and won the D2 title in her second season. Following a rough start, she implemented a press defense and got her squad to play its best at the end of the year.

Honorable mention

Makenna Ash, so., Gibraltar; Kennedy Blahnik, jr., Algoma; Whitney Boda, sr., Shawano; Brianna Byrne, sr., G.B. Notre Dame; Eliza Campbell, jr., G.B. Notre Dame; Bailey Denis, so., West De Pere; Anna Dier, fr., Algoma; Jen Dowden, so., Bonduel; Shannen Ganter, sr., Peshtigo; Kelsey Hischke, sr., Gillett; Claire Jordan, jr., Bay Port; Lexi Kinnard, jr., Luxemburg-Casco; Jill Kleiman, sr., Kewaunee; Courtney Klister, sr., Wrightstown; Carly Lemke, jr., Oconto Falls; Cheyanne McFarlin, sr., Southern Door; Jaci Mielke, sr., N.E.W. Lutheran; Makayla Raith, jr., Elcho; Mackenzie Sadowski, jr., Coleman; Linnea Schmelzer, sr., Sturgeon Bay; Emily Simmons, jr., Pulaski; Wrenn Tanck, sr., Wrightstown; Kendell Truttman, sr., Denmark; Allison von Brevern, sr., Seymour; Marlena Wagner, sr., Lena; Brooklyn Wolosyn, fr., Niagara.


More USA TODAY High School Sports