Appel, Small are tops in MVC

Appel, Small are tops in MVC


Appel, Small are tops in MVC


West High’s Kyle Appel and City High’s Eve Small each were named Athletes of the Year in the Mississippi Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference, it was announced.

Appel was honored on the boys side, and West’s Mitch Gross shared Coach of the Year honors in the division. Appel, Blake Oetting and David DiLeo were unanimous first-team selections.

Adam Dellos, Trent Schneider and Karl Wenzel made the second team for the Trojans. Kenny Goins and Will Code were honorable mentions, and Appel and Code also earned all-academic honors.

Andrew Brown and Holden Feagler were honorable mentions for City’s boys, and Mohamed Rouabhi and Brown earned all-academic honors.

Small was honored on the girls side, and City’s Fred Pedersen was Coach of the Year.

Small and Inne Hicsasmaz made the first team for the Little Hawks. Susanna Gianola made the second team, and Kit Finley and Elizabeth Schieffer were honorable mentions. Schieffer and Hannah Russell earned all-academic honors.

Elena Wilson made the first team for West’s girls. Megan Jans and Addy Riley made the second team, Brittani Langland and Maria Burtch were honorable mentions, and Wilson and Erin Weather earned all-academic honors.


Mississippi Division

Athlete of the Year – Kyle Appel, West.

Coaches of the Year – Brett Myers, Dubuque Senior; Mitch Gross, West.

First team – Kyle Appel*, West; Blake Oetting*, West; David DiLeo*, West; Jeff Teng*, Dubuque Hempstead; Gabe Mozena*, Dubuque Senior; Jacob Donald*, Cedar Rapids Jefferson.

Second team (area players) – Adam Dellos, West; Trent Schneider, West; Karl Wenzel, West.

Honorable mention (area players) – Andrew Brown, City; Holden Feagler, City; Kenny Goins, West; Will Code, West.

All-academic (area players) – Mohamed Rouabhi, City; Andrew Brown, City; Kyle Appel, West, Will Code, West.


Mississippi Division

Athlete of the Year – Eve Small, City

Coach of the Year – Fred Pedersen, City.

First team – Eve Small, City; Inne Hicsasmaz, City; Katie Meyer, Dubuque Hempstead; Sarah Lasecki, Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Elena Wilson, West.

Second team (area players) – Susanna Gianola, City; Megan Jans, West; Addy Riley, West.

Honorable mention (area players) – Kit Finley, City; Elizabeth Schieffer, City; Brittani Langland, West; Maria Burtch, West.

All-academic (area players) – Elizabeth Schieffer, City, Hannah Russell, City; Elena Wilson, West, Erin Weather, West.

*unanimous selection.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Appel, Small are tops in MVC
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit