Blaze, Patriots dominated on football field

Blaze, Patriots dominated on football field


Blaze, Patriots dominated on football field


Blackman and Oakland stood out above the rest of District 7-AAA during the high school football season. Neither Murfreesboro team lost to a District 7-AAA opponent outside of each other.

Today, the Blaze and the Patriots standout in The Daily News Journal’s 2013 All-Area Football Team.

Second-ranked Oakland (12-1) have 10 players on the first team and six more on the second team. Fifth-ranked Blackman (11-3) have seven on the first team and 10 on the second team.

Oakland’s first-team contingent is led by six players on a defense that gave up just 8.8 points a game.

Junior linebacker Kevin Prather, the District 7-AAA Defensive MVP, led the defense and has been named The DNJ’s Defensive Player of the Year. Prather is joined defensively by defensive tackle Austin Barrett, defensive end Anthony Akers, cornerback George Gbesee and safeties Josh Cunningham and Emmanuel Smith.

Offensively, the Patriots placed running back Fred Wade, tight end Hudson Smith and linemen Jack Jones, a Mr. Football winner, and Caleb Yates on the first team.

Blackman quarterback Jauan Jennings, who is named to the first team as an athlete, headlines the Blaze first-team selections. The District 7-AAA Offensive MVP also starred on defense at safety. Linebackers Antonio Allen and Austin Mosier join Jennings on the first team along with wide receiver Ronnie Killings, defensive end Javon Shanklin and offensive linemen Caleb Singleton and Caleb Lafleur.

Ninth-ranked Siegel (8-4) is led by District 7-AAA Overall MVP and DNJ Player of the Year Denzel Harding, a running back. Joining Harding, a Mr. Football finalist, on the first team from the Stars are quarterback Dakota Crane, receiver Weston Hayes, kicker Harrison Reed, linebacker Nick Peters and punter Peyton Tracy.

Riverdale (4-6) placed two on the first team in offensive lineman Kyle Blevens and defensive tackle Travis Martin.

Smyrna (6-5), La Vergne (3-7) and Eagleville (10-2) each placed one player on the first team. Cornerback D.J. Williams represented the Bulldogs. Receiver Quin Jernighan leads the Wolverines and Mr. Football finalist Chris Hale represented Eagleville.


More USA TODAY High School Sports