Boys Basketball: All-FRCC: Guske earns top conference honor

Boys Basketball: All-FRCC: Guske earns top conference honor


Boys Basketball: All-FRCC: Guske earns top conference honor


When you score more than 500 points in a season and break into your school’s record books, you’re bound to turn a head or two.

Sheboygan North’s Ethan Guske finished with 534 points this season — including a walloping 40 points in a postseason game against crosstown rival Sheboygan South — en route to becoming the Golden Raiders’ all-time leading scorer.

Now he has a title fit for his scoring prowess: He’s this season’s Fox River Classic Conference Player of the Year.

“It’s huge,” coach Tom Desotell — who was named the conference’s Coach of the Year after earning his 597th career win this season — said of Guske’s recognition. “… It’s richly deserved.”

(Desotell played down his own title. “I think the strength of the program was the rest of the team, no question on that,” he said. “The players would be the first ones to tell you that it wasn’t coaching.”)

Guske, who was also a unanimous first-team All-FRCC pick, said he was “pretty shocked” after learning about his POY title.

“I still don’t think it has sunk in yet,” he said Tuesday, a few days after he first learned of his award. He found out on Sunday, shortly after the meeting where the all-conference voting took place.

Green Bay Southwest’s Aaron Moesch, another strong scorer and rebounder in the FRCC this season, was the only other unanimous first-team selection this season.

North freshman Davis Larson earned a nod to the all-conference’s honorable mention list after scoring 327 points this season and averaging an eye-popping 8.5 rebounds per game.

“He’s mature beyond his years, and has the respect of everybody at North High School,” Desotell said of Larson, noting the young player is “going to have to be a rock this summer around which we build, that’s for sure.”

Sheboygan South’s Matt Schroeder also earned an honorable mention nod in the all-conference voting.


Ethan Guske, sr., Sheboygan North


Bennett Koch, sr., Ashwaubenon


Tom Desotell, Sheboygan North


Ethan Guske, sr., Sheboygan North*; Aaron Moesch, sr., Green Bay Southwest*; Bennett Koch, sr., Ashwaubenon; Cody Wichmann, sr., Pulaski; Steven Minzlaff, sr., Bay Port; Adam Beyer, sr., De Pere.


Brevin Pretzl,so., De Pere; Ben Bobinski, sr., Notre Dame; Kyle Monroe, so., Ashwaubenon; Austin Mecca, sr., Manitowoc Lincoln; Luke VanLanen, jr., Pulaski; Antonio Ford, sr., Green Bay East.


Davis Larson, Sheboygan North; Spencer Morcarski, De Pere; Jordan Stiede, Pulaski; Olentda Bryant, Green Bay Preble; Justin Schweiner, Green Bay Southwest; Kyle Hoffman, Manitowoc Lincoln; Matt Schroeder, Sheboygan South; Eddie Mattia, Ashwaubenon; Connor Kraft, Green Bay Preble.



More USA TODAY High School Sports
Boys Basketball: All-FRCC: Guske earns top conference honor
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit