Boys Cross Country Overview: North, Oostburg eye conference title repeats

Boys Cross Country Overview: North, Oostburg eye conference title repeats


Boys Cross Country Overview: North, Oostburg eye conference title repeats


Sheboygan North

Coach: Kevin Herber, seventh year

Last year: First, Fox River Classic Conference

Returning letter winners: Trevor Damkot, sr.; Shamus Zenk, jr.; Tommy Lang, so.; Lucas Wyrembeck, jr.

Overview: The Golden Raiders’ top three runners can all hit the 16-minute mark while the rest of the squad features a strong work ethic. The team also has a lot of experience against great competition. An area of weakness will be closing the gap between the top three runners and the rest of the team.

Sheboygan South

Coach: Gary Wondergem, ninth year

Last year: Sixth, FRCC

Returning letter winners: Nick Balma, sr.; Eric Fischer, sr.; Ben Johnson, sr.; Luke Reinke, sr.; Zach Klokow, jr.; Sean Reinemann, so.

Overview: South graduated seven seniors in 2013, including three of its top five runners. The success of this year’s team is dependent on last year’s JV runners stepping into varsity spots. Two-time State-qualifier Zach Klokow will lead this year’s squad along with seniors Nick Balma, Eric Fischer and Ben Johnson. Juniors Nathan Kittel and Talen Londre will be varsity contributors.


Coach: Tony Grybush, 24th year

Last year: Fourth, Eastern Wisconsin Conference

Returning letter winners: Andrew Krumlin, sr.; Brandon Spindler, sr.; Thomas Heckmann, jr.; Ramsey Kammerzelt, jr.; Eric Weber, so.

Overview: The team’s strengths lie within the teamwork and new runners’ potential. The weaknesses are a result of previous success as many new athletes will be competing this season.


Coach: Jay Grosshuesch, 24th year

Last year: Second, EWC

Returning letter winners: Thomas Jankowski, sr.; Chandler Haun, sr.; Paul Francis, jr.; Eric Schoenemann, so.; Andrew Ziegler, sr.

Overview: Plymouth has a large senior class as well as plenty of experienced runners. The key to the Panthers’ season will most likely be how its less-experienced runners develop. Its top three runners should score pretty well, but the Panthers need to add four-five runners who will earn low place cards as well.

Sheboygan Falls

Coach: Tiffany Otte, fifth year

Last year: Seventh, EWC

Returning letter winners: Austin Arenz, so.; Kyle Dawson, sr.; Jake Fischer, sr.; Zach Hand, jr.; Nathan McCoy, so.; Nathan Posewitz, jr.; Justyn St. Onge, jr.; Nick St. Onge, sr.; Bradley Wagner, so.

Overview: The Falcons will look to improve upon last year’s finish despite having a relatively young squad.

Cedar Grove-Belgium

Coach: Les Paul, ninth year

Last year: Fourth place CLC

Returning letter winners: Peter Merritt, so.; Derek Arndt, jr.

Outlook: The Rockets will be among the younger teams around, with five of the seven roster spots filled by freshmen. But Merritt was an all-conference performer as a freshmen and Paul is also expecting big things out of Arndt.

Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah

Coach: Christi Lueck-Sadiq, second year

Returning letter winners: Ethan Hau, sr.; Jordan Kissinger, jr.; Justin Miller, sr.; Logan Knepfel, jr.; Caterson Schamberger, jr.

Overview: The team is small, but the Resorters have been using a new running program that coach Lueck-Sadiq hopes will pan out for the squad as she expects to see faster times this season.

Howards Grove

Coach: Gary Kalk, 16th year

Last year: Fourth, Central Lakeshore Conference

Returning letter winners: Arthur Meyer, so.; Reed Trueblood, so.; Eric Dvorachek, jr.; Fred Meyer, jr.; Marquis Bolz, sr.; Luke Oxtoby, sr.

Overview: The nucleus of the squad has experience which will be beneficial as the season moves on. Leadership is also a strength of the team, which is hoping to improve its tempo in races and competing out of its comfort zone on a regular basis. Health will play a huge factor in the season’s outcome.


Coach: Jack Rauwerdink, fourth year

Last year: First, CLC

Returning letter winners: Adam Daane, sr.; Justin Molter, sr.; David Kuffel, sr.; Jordan Molter, jr.; Justin Dolfin, jr.; Zach Mentink, so.; Ryan Prinsen, so.; Eddie Castillo, so.; Johny Daane, so.

Overview: The Flying Dutchmen have a solid core group of runners with leadership and dedication to the sport being other strengths of the squad.

Random Lake

Coach: Stephanie Ohme, first year

Upperclassmen: Danny Cannavo, so.; Jared Jungers, jr.; Kyle Allen, jr.; Noah Raunio, so.; Xeoff Simmerman, jr.

Overview: Coach Ohme said she expects the boys to run together as a “pack.”

Sheboygan Lutheran

Coach: Jeff Jurss, 18th year

Last year: Second, CLC

Returning letter winners: Nathan Hasenstein, sr.; Luke Burkart, sr.; Christian Steinert, sr.; Jacob Ames, sr.; Jake Jurss, jr.

Overview: A team strength is its experience while the top five runners run together. Steinert has been enjoying a leadership role this season while the rest of the top five are very hard workers. The team does have some young and inexperienced runners, but coach Jurss said they have lots of room to grow.


More USA TODAY High School Sports