Boys Golf: Falcons top small team at Bomber Invitational

Boys Golf: Falcons top small team at Bomber Invitational


Boys Golf: Falcons top small team at Bomber Invitational


Sheboygan Falls golfers Connor Clark and Tyler Beeck earned two-player scramble medalist honors and the Falcons took the small school team champion award Saturday at the first Blue Bomber Invitational.

The 20-school event featured teams of six players, combining a mix of individual strokes, best-ball and scramble formats to set final scores. The tournament gave awards in large- and small-school categories, based on those schools’ enrollments.

Brookfield Central shot a 309 — one stroke better than Falls — to take the large school team champion prize. Green Bay Notre Dame (318) and Pardeeville (333) earned the large- and small-school runner-up awards, respectively.

Sheboygan North led area teams in the large-school division, taking fifth with a team score of 333. Kohler fell two spots behind Sheboygan Falls for a third-place finish in the small-school lineup; the Blue Bombers shot a 339.

Two players from each team collected individual strokes, while two more combined in a best-ball format.

Clark and Beeck combined for a 3-under-par 69 over 18 holes on Whistling Straits’ Irish Course.

Falls’ Chris Bachmann led the area’s stroke-play golfers with a 7-over 79, putting him in third place individually behind Brookfield Central’s Eddie Wajda (who shot a 75) and Homestead’s Charlie Maleki (77).

Alex Gray, one of Sheboygan North’s two stroke-play golfers, carded an 82, falling into sixth place individually.

Falls’ Matt Andrews and Will Meyer combined for a score of 80 to lead the area’s best-ball golfers.

Team scores:
Large division — Brookfield Central 309, Notre Dame 318, Homestead 320, Stoughton 328, Sheboygan North 333, Hartford Union 338, Catholic Memorial 340, Plymouth 343, Milton 344, Menomonee Falls 347; Small division — Sheboygan Falls 310, Pardeeville 333, Kohler 339, Madison Edgewood 342, Oshkosh Lourdes 358, Manitowoc Roncalli 360, Osseo-Fairchild 366, Lake Country Lutheran 367, Wisconsin Dells 411, Platteville (incomplete).

Sheboygan Falls (310) —
Stroke play: Chris Bachmann 79, Matt Bachmann 82;Best-ball: M. Andrews-W. Meyer 80; Scramble: C. Clark-T. Beeck 69.

Sheboygan North (333) —
Stroke play: Alex Gray 82, Kevin Lang 88; Best-ball: B. Meyer-E. Kirchenwitz 85; Scramble: J. Willadsen-N. Davis 78.

Kohler (339) —
Stroke play: Derek Egbert 85, Logan Willis 86; Best-ball: N. Scheppmann/A. Bryce 82; Scramble: J. Dyksterhouse-A. Egbert 86.

Plymouth (343) —
Stroke play: Tyler Siech 83, Tony Arnold 94; Best-ball: M. Gannon-S. Potrykus 83; Scramble: L. Johnson-A. Schilsky 83.

Badger Creek invite

New Holstein’s Michael Voelker was named to the first-team all-tournament team and Kiel’s Jordan Meyer earned a spot on the second team Saturday at the Badger Creek Invitational.

Campbellsport finished with a 38-over-par 326 to take first place in the 11-team event at New Holstein’s Badger Creek Golf Club. Howards Grove took fourth and New Holstein earned a fifth-place spot.

Voelker carded an 11-over 83 to finish in a four-way tie for third place. Meyer shot an 84 and finished in a two-way tie for seventh.

Garrett Jahnke and Chris Niemann paced the Tigers with matching scores of 86. Howards Grove shot a 358.

Jake Schwan led sixth-place Random Lake with an 89.

Team scores: Campbellsport 326, Kewaskum 350, Shorewood 353, Howards Grove 358, New Holstein 365, Random Lake 367, Menasha St. Mary Central 374, Kiel 375, Hilbert 380, Chilton 393, Manitowoc Roncalli 447.

Howards Grove (358) — Garrett Jahnke 86, Chris Niemann 86, Tom Hansen 93, Cole McGraw 93.

New Holstein (365) — Michael Voelker 83, Joe Baldwin 94, Brett Schmitt 94, Blake Simon 94.

Random Lake (367) — Jake Schwan 89, Alex Rathke 92, Jacob Coeur 93, Nicole Paulus 93.

Kiel (375) — Jordan Meyer 84, Terren Driscoll 94, Nate Voiteck 94, Grant Konen 103.

First Team All-Tournament: Caleb Galligan, Campbellsport; Jack Adams, Campbellsport; Michael Voelker, New Holstein; Adam Waala, Kewaskum; Logan Eisch, Campbellsport.

Second Team All-Tournament: Eric Leitheiser, Campbellsport; Jordan Meyer, Kiel; Andrew Depies, Menasha St. Mary Central; Cameron Duncan, Shorewood; Brian Morris, Shorewood.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Boys Golf: Falcons top small team at Bomber Invitational
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit