Boys Golf: Sheboygan Falls repeats as EWC champion

Boys Golf: Sheboygan Falls repeats as EWC champion


Boys Golf: Sheboygan Falls repeats as EWC champion


Just as it has been all season, Sheboygan Falls’ boys golf team was too strong for the competition at the Eastern Wisconsin Conference meet at Whispering Springs in Fond du Lac Thursday.

Freshman phenom Matt Bachmann — the EWC Golfer of the Year — shot a 1-under 71 to win by two strokes over his brother, senior Chris Bachmann, who finished with a 1-over 73.

The title is the second in a row for the Falcons, who ended Plymouth’s string of eight straight titles last year.

Plymouth’s Tyler Siech and Falls’ Matt Andrews tied for fourth, along with Campbellsport’s Jack Adams, with 80s.

Team scores: Sheboygan Falls 305, Campbellsport 332, Plymouth 333, Two Rivers 358, New Holstein 361, Kewaskum 362, Waupun 384, Kiel 404.

Sheboygan Falls (305) — Matt Bachmann 71, Chris Bachmann 73, Matt Andrews 80, Connor Clark 81

Plymouth (333) — Tyler Siech 80, Tony Arnold 81, Matt Gannon 84, Sam Potrykus 88

New Holstein (361) — Michael Voelker 83, Blake Simon 90, Quinten Gerharte 91, Joe Baldwin 97

Kiel (404) — Nick Goecks 98, Terren Driscoll 99, Nathan Voitek 102, Parker Brack 105

Final team standings: Sheboygan Falls 11, Plymouth 22, Campbellsport 27, Two Rivers 50, Kewaskum 53, New Holstein 56, Waupun 69, Kiel 71.

CLC meet

Logan Willis led the Kohler Blue Bombers to yet another Central Lakeshore Conference title at Blackwolf Run.

Willis, the CLC Golfer of the Year, shot a 79 to win individual honors as well as push Kohler to the top of the conference standings for the third year in a row.

The conference title was a four-team race entering the CLC meet, with Kohler and Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah (seven points each after duals) just ahead of Oostburg and Howards Grove (six points each).

Willis was the lone player to break 80 on a tough Meadow Valleys course with many pin locations tucked close to hazards. Cedar Grove-Belgium’s Isaiah Bauer took second with an 83 and Elkhart Lake’s Ollie Sadiq and Kohler’s Nick Scheppmann tied for third with 85s.

Willis edged out Sadiq for Golfer of the Year honors. Both were joined on the All-CLC first team by Bauer, Howards’ Chris Niemann and Elkhart’s Antonio Bett.

Team scores: Kohler 346, Oostburg 367, Howards Grove 367, Elkhart Lake 378, Cedar Grove 380, Sheboygan Christian 393, Ozaukee 402, Random Lake 403, Sheboygan Lutheran 416.

Kohler (346) — Logan Willis 79, Nick Scheppmann 85, Jess Dyksterhouse 90, Derek Egbert 92

Oostburg (367) — Josh Smies 88, Ray Kolocek 91, Joe Smies 92, Lukas Meerdink 96

Howards Grove (367) — Garrett Jahnke 89, Chris Niemann 89, Tom Hansen 90, Cole McCraw 99

Elkhart Lake (378) — Ollie Sadiq 85, Antonio Bett 87, Elliot Van Oss 103, Jake Shovan 103

Cedar Grove (380) — Isaiah Bauer 83, Justin Obbink 89, Stuart Friberg 99, Will DeBlaey 109

Sheboygan Christian (393) — Garret Klompenhouwer 93, Thad Coulis 95, Josh Stecker 100, Jerod Denning 105

Ozaukee (402) — Austin Bares 94, Grant Klas 96, Avery Clark 99, Nathan LeSage 113

Random Lake (403) — Reid Rumack 94, Brandon Stevens 99, Jacob Couer 102, Jake Schwan 108

Sheboygan Lutheran (416) — Nate Hasenstein 97, Ben Leibham 101, John Navis 109, Logan Jones 109

Final team standings: Kohler 23, Oostburg 19, Howards Grove 19, Elkhart Lake 17, Cedar Grove 10, Sheboygan Christian 10, Ozaukee5, Random Lake 5, Sheboygan Lutheran 0.


First team (player points listed)

Logan Willis, Ko, 63; Ollie Sadiq, EL, 58; Isaiah Bauer, CG, 49.5; Chris Niemann, HG, 42; Antonio Bett, EL, 40

Second team

Garrett Jahnke, HG, 39.5; Justin Obbink, CG, 39.5; Nick Scheppmann, Ko, 30; Josh Smies, Oo, 35.5; Derek Egbert, Ko, 33.5

Honorable mention

Joe Smies, Oo, 33; Ray Kolocek, Oo, 33; Austin Bares, Oz, 32; Tom Hansen, HG, 30.5; Garret Klompenhouwer, SC, 26.5


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Boys Golf: Sheboygan Falls repeats as EWC champion
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit