Boys' High School Notebook | Ballard rated tops for State, No. 2 overall

Boys' High School Notebook | Ballard rated tops for State, No. 2 overall


Boys' High School Notebook | Ballard rated tops for State, No. 2 overall


If The Courier-Journal’s Litkenhous Ratings are accurate, the Ballard and Madison Central high school boys’ basketball teams will meet in Sunday’s final of the Sweet 16.

Ballard (29-4) is No. 2 in the state in the final edition of the Litratings, which were released Monday. Ballard defeated No. 1 Trinity 57-46 in Saturday’s Seventh Region Tournament final at Valley.

Madison Central (28-5) is No. 4 in the Litratings and joins Ballard among the seven Top 20 teams that qualified for the Sweet 16, which will start Wednesday at Rupp Arena in Lexington.

The other Top 20 teams in the field are No. 5 Pleasure Ridge Park, No. 8 John Hardin, No. 10 Montgomery County, No. 11 Hopkinsville and No. 13 Holmes.

If Ballard and Madison Central reach the final, it will be a rematch of their Dec. 22 matchup in the semifinals of the King of the Bluegrass Holiday Classic at Fairdale. The Bruins won that game 88-86 behind 36 points from Quentin Snider.

There will be one Top 20 matchup in the first round of the Sweet 16, with PRP facing Holmes on Wednesday at 1:30 p.m.

* Willis, Stoner earn KABC Player of the Year honors: Bullitt East’s Derek Willis (Sixth Region) and Male’s Josh Stoner (Seventh Region) were honored as Players of the Year in the Louisville area by the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches. Fairdale’s Gregg Longacre (Sixth Region) and Male’s Larry Miller (Seventh Region) were area Coaches of the Year.

Winners for each of the state’s 16 regions (players listed first, then coaches):

First Region — Chase Clark (Marshall County), Chris Guhy (Mayfield) and Brian O’Neill (Carlisle County); Second –Deonquez Nance (Trigg County), Jon Newton (Webster County); Third — Logan O’Bryan (Daviess County), Patrick Critchelow (Breckinridge County); Fourth — Tyler Robertson (Russell County), Casey Simpson (Warren East); Fifth — Kelton Ford (LaRue County), Artie Braden (Bethlehem); Sixth — Derek Willis (Bullitt East), Gregg Longacre (Fairdale); Seventh — Josh Stoner (Male), Larry Miller (Male); Eighth — Andrew Sampson (Simon Kenton), Jim Hicks (Grant County); Ninth — Antonio Campbell (Covington Holy Cross), Grant Brannen (Newport Central Catholic); 10th — Omar Prewitt (Montgomery County), Jason Hinson (Augusta); 11th — Dominique Hawkins (Madison Central), West Scarberry (Model); 12th — Taylor Gover (Pulaski County), Rodney Woods (Wayne County); 13th — Tyler Brewer (Harlan County), Mike Jones (Harlan County); 14th — Cody Gregory (Letcher County Central), Robert Hammonds (Letcher County Central); 15th –Ethan Rowe (Pikeville), Bart Williams (Pikeville); 16th — Kyle Skaggs (Russell), Merle Kidwell (Russell) and Randy Anderson (Boyd County).


* The Oldham County ice hockey team beat Trinity 2-1 in Sunday’s Kentucky State High School League championship game at Louisville’s Iceland Sports Complex.

Ben Lau’s goal with 1:30 left gave Oldham County the victory. Caleb Perry also scored for the Colonels.

Ryan Gustafson scored Trinity’s goal.

* Jaclyn Puntillo has been named soccer coach at Sacred Heart, replacing Chris Moore.

Puntillo was an assistant coach at Sacred Heart the past four seasons. He played soccer at Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne.

* Male’s Katie Barker signed to play soccer at St. Francis in Fort Wayne, Ind. Barker was a first-team All-State selection last season.

* Pleasure Ridge Park’s Josh Beams signed to play baseball at Indiana University Southeast.

More USA TODAY High School Sports
Boys' High School Notebook | Ballard rated tops for State, No. 2 overall
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit