Carver LB on prep Butkus Award watch list

Carver LB on prep Butkus Award watch list


Carver LB on prep Butkus Award watch list


It’s no surprise to find University of Alabama linebackers Adrian Hubbard and C.J. Mosley on the Butkus Award preseason watch list.

Another linebacker who hopes to follow in Hubbard’s and Mosley’s footsteps is on the watch list as well.

Carver’s Shaun Dion Hamilton, an Alabama commitment, is one of a record six linebackers from the state on the watch list for the high school version of the Butkus Award.

The prep version started in 2008 and was awarded to Punahou High (Hawaii) linebacker Manti Te’o, while a professional version of the award debuted the same year and went to Alabama native DeMarcus Ware of the Dallas Cowboys. Seven high school linebackers from the state previously have made the list, including Auburn High’s Reuben Foster and Huntsville High’s Cameron Toney in 2012.

Hamilton is joined on this year’s list by Deshaun Davis of Vigor, Rashaan Evans of Auburn High, E.J. Moss of Ashville, T.J. Posey of Gadsden City and Tre Williams of St. Paul’s Epsicopal.

Joining Hubbard and Mosley on the college list are fellow SEC standouts Lamin Barrow of LSU, Georgia’s Jordan Jenkins, Tennessee’s A.J. Johnson, Kentucky’s Avery Williamson, the Mississippi State duo of Bernardrick McKinney and Deontae Skinner and D.T. Shackelford of Ole Miss.

Fifty-one players are chosen for both lists in honor of the jersey number worn by Butkus. The award will be made by Butkus in December at the institution of the winning player.

Two Alabama players have won the college award: Derrick Thomas in 1988 and Rolando McClain in 2009. Mosley finished third behind Te’o and Georgia’s Jarvis Jones last year.

The Lombardi Award preseason watch list also was released Monday. Former Prattville High linebacker Alex Page, now a defensive end at South Alabama, is among the 107 players on that list.

Hubbard and Mosley are on that team as well, along with Tide teammates Anthony Steen and Cyrus Kouandjio. The Lombardi Award typically is given to the nation’s top college lineman, usually on defense, but can be awarded to any player who lines up on the ball, including linebackers.

Hubbard, Mosley, Steen and Kouandjio are among 17 SEC players on the list, along with Georgia guard Chris Burnette, South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, LSU guard La’El Collins, Florida defensive tackle Dominique Easley, Kentucky linebacker Andrew Jackson, Mississippi State guard Gabe Jackson, Tennessee linebacker A.J. Johnson, LSU defensive tackle Anthony Johnson, Vanderbilt tackle Wesley Johnson, Ole Miss linebacker Denzel Nkemdiche, Tennessee tackle Antonio Richardson, Arkansas defensive end Chris Smith and Arkansas center Travis Swanson.

The award will be presented in Houston on Dec. 11.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Carver LB on prep Butkus Award watch list
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit