Ceniceros, Engle earn top honors in Fox Valley Association

Ceniceros, Engle earn top honors in Fox Valley Association


Ceniceros, Engle earn top honors in Fox Valley Association


Both Oshkosh North and Oshkosh West landed players on the all-Fox Valley Association soccer first team, it was announced by the league this week.

Seniors Oscar Ceniceros of Oshkosh North, a three-time first-team selection, and Alex Engle of Oshkosh West each landed spots on the 13-member first team.

Conference champion Neenah led the way with four first-team selections, led by Player of the Year Adam Pohlman. Tyler Speakes, Jordan Altekruse and Rashwan Jackson were also selected from the Rockets.

The rest of the first team consisted of Keegan Govin, Max Johansen and Grant Lacy of Appleton North, Cody Call, Drew Van Alstine and Andy Schmalz of Kimberly and Brock Lisowe of Fond du Lac.

The Wildcats’ Noah Ludwig and the Spartans’ Chuefai Thao were named to the all-FVA second team, while Elliott Dyer and Spencer Stiebs of Oshkosh North and Samuel Merrill of Oshkosh West were honorable mention selections.


First Team

Jordan Altekruse, jr., mf, Neenah; Cory Call, jr., for., Kimberly; Oscar Ceniceros, sr., mf, Oshkosh North; Alex Engle, sr., mf, Oshkosh West; Keegan Govin, sr., for., Appleton North; Rashwan Jackson, soph., def., Neenah; Max Johansen, sr., def., Appleton North; Grant Lacy, sr., gk, Appleton North; Brock Lisowe, sr., for., Fond du Lac; Adam Pohlman, sr., mf, Neenah; Andy Schmalz, sr., def., Kimberly; Tyler Speakes, sr., for., Neenah; Drew VanAlstine, sr., mf, Kimberly.

Player of the Year: Adam Pohlman, Neenah.

Coach of the Year: Harry Kelderman, Neenah.

Second Team

Gerardo Enriquez, sr., for., Appleton East; Aidan Fogarty, jr., gk, Appleton West; Robert Hackney, sr., for., Appleton North; Elliot Kasten, jr., for., Neenah; Aydan Leigh, sr., for., Appleton West; Noah Ludwig, mf, Oshkosh West; Casey McArdle, sr., mf, Fond du Lac; Isaac Monson, sr., mf, Appleton North; Mitchell Richard, sr., mf, Neenah; Oscar Reiuz, sr., mf, Kaukauna; Travis Schmeltzer, sr., mf, Kimberly; Joe Schorse, sr., def., Fond du Lac; Nick Schwartz, sr., def., Fond du Lac; Chuefai Thao, sr., def., Oshkosh North.

Honorable Mention

Appleton East: Cory Jeche, sr., def. Appleton West: Kyle Thor, jr., mf; Jack Schneider, sr., def. Fond du Lac: Connor Reams, jr., for.; Ian Tess-Wanat, sr., gk. Kaukauna: Matthew Schmidt, jr., def. Kimberly: Reese Schupp, soph., mf. Neenah: Cedar Garcia, for.; Hunter Alderton, sr., gk; Matthew Evensen, jr., def. Oshkosh North: Elliott Dyer, sr., mf; Spencer Stiebs, sr., mf. Oshkosh West: Samuel Merrill, mf.

Eastern Valley

Winneconne’s Andrew Zolp, a junior, and sophomore Oliver Wallschlaeger along with Ripon senior Sam VanderPlas garnered spots on the 11-member all-Eastern Valley Conference first team it was released recently.

Stephen Varkoly and Brandon Lifke of Xavier and Matt Vandenberg of Little Chute were unanimous first-team selections, while Kyle Van Hammond and Seth Theillig of Xavier, Sean Wydeven of Little Chute, James Camann of Waupaca and Jarik Nemeth of Freedom rounded out the first team.

Varkoly was named the offensive player of the year, while Vandeberg was named defensive player of the year.

Ripon landed three players on the second team in seniors Ben Pulvermacher, Brian Yongo and Elias Nelsen, while Berlin senior Alec Huggins also was a second-team selection.

Earning third-team honors were senior Rafael Pizano and junior Bryce Dretske of Berlin and sophomore Jacob Brazee of Winneconne.


First Team

(x-denotes unanimous selection)

James Camann, sr., Waupaca; x-Brandon Lifke, jr., Xavier; Jarik Nemeth, sr., Freedom; Seth Theilig, soph., Xavier; x-Matt Vandenberg, sr., Little Chute; Sam VanderPlas, sr., Ripon; Kyle Van Hammond, jr., Xavier; x-Stephen Varkoly, sr., Xavier; Oliver Wallschlaeger, soph., Winneconne; Sean Wydeven, sr., Little Chute; Andrew Zolp, jr., Winneconne.

Offensive Player of the Year: Stephen Varkoly, Xavier.

Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Vandenberg, Little Chute

Second Team

Miguel Barraza, jr., Waupaca; Taylor Hermes, sr., Little Chute; Michael Hermsen, sr., Little Chute; Alec Huggins, sr., Berlin; Brett Langner, jr., Little Chute; Tim Miller, jr., Clintonville; Elias Nelsen, sr., Ripon; Ben Pulvermacher, sr., Ripon; Ethan Schneider, jr., Fox Valley Lutheran; Patrick Snider, sr., Waupaca; Brian Yongo, sr., Ripon.

Third Team

Kyle Balster, jr., Xavier; Jacob Brazee, soph., Winneconne; Bryce Dretske, jr., Berlin; Aidan Meyer, jr., Little Chute; Colton Peeters, jr., Freedom; Rafael Pizano, sr., Berlin; Tate Resch-Ganger, fr., Xavier; Tadao Shimura, jr., Fox Valley Lutheran; Ryan Stoeger, jr., Xavier; Tekoa Wittman, sr., Little Chute; Joey Zimmer, soph., Xavier.

Flyway Conference

Lourdes Academy’s Adam Trofka was named to the second team to lead the area selections on the all-Flyway Conference teams announced recently.

Senior Corey Beecher, junior Brady Schneider and sophomore Ryan McBride were honorable mention selections for the Knights, while senior Alex O’Connell was Omro’s lone honoree on honorable mention.

Central Wisconsin Christian’s Luke Jansen was named Player of the Year in the conference for the second straight season.


First Team

(x-denotes unanimous selection)

x-Jason Braunschweig, sr., def, Central Wisconsin Christian; Ethan Bublitz, jr., for, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; x-Alex Gomez, sr., for, St. Lawrence Seminary; x-Griffin Hoerchner, jr, mf, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; x-Luke Jansen, sr., mf, Central Wisconsin Christian; Caleb King, sr., gk, Winnebago Lutheran; Gustavo Martinez, jr., mf, St. Lawrence Seminary; Travis Rieder, jr, mf, Winnebago Lutheran; Alex Rivera, sr., St. Lawrence Seminary; Ethan Wolff, sr., def, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; x-Cody Zonnefeld, jr., for, Central Wisconsin Christian; Tim Zunker, jr., def, Winnebago Lutheran.

Player of the Year: Luke Jansen, Central Wisconsin Christian

Second Team

Anson Bautista, sr., mf, Lomira; Hunter Braskamp, jr., mf, Central Wisconsin Christian; Dominic Cypher, sr., def, Mayville; Travis DeGroot, sr., def, Central Wisconsin Christian; Logan Ganz, sr., gk, Central Wisconsin Christian; Ben Mand, sr., mf, North Fond du Lac; Andrew Moore, sr., mf, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Jared Regnarus, sr., for, Central Wisconsin Christian; Elliott Schellpfeffer, sr., for, Mayville; Noah Semmann, jr., for, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Adam Trofka, jr., def, Lourdes Academy; Nathan Weiss, soph., def, Kettle Moraine Lutheran.

Honorable Mention

Central Wisconsin Christian: Lucas Vander Berg, sr., mf. Kettle Moraine Lutheran: Colin Biesterfeld, soph., mf. Lomira: Drew Haack, soph., gk; Cayden Wiese, sr., def. Lourdes Academy: Corey Beecher, sr., mf; Ryan McBride, soph., mf; Brady Schneider, jr., for. Mayville: Logan Wild, sr., gk; Dustin Gehring, sr., mf; Dominic Nonhof, sr., mf. North Fond du Lac: Trenton Vielbig, sr., gk; Adan Scheer, jr., def; Nick Schlevan, sr., mf. Omro: Alex O’Connell, sr., def. St. Lawrence Seminary: Ricky Espino, soph., def; Joey Limon, sr., mf; Isai Luevano, fr., mf. St. Mary’s Springs: Tim Amerling, jr., def; Axel Najera, sr., mf; Jackson, Voight, sr., for. Winnebago Lutheran: Jordan Calkins, jr., mf; Jeran Huey, jr., for.


More USA TODAY High School Sports