Courier-Journal boys' coach of the year: Feldhaus repeats, putting him in a class with his dad

Courier-Journal boys' coach of the year: Feldhaus repeats, putting him in a class with his dad


Courier-Journal boys' coach of the year: Feldhaus repeats, putting him in a class with his dad


When it comes to Coach of the Year honors, Allen Feldhaus Jr. now can brag that he’s matched his father.

Fresh off leading the Madison Central High School boys’ basketball team to the state championship, Feldhaus has been named The Courier-Journal’s Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Allen Sr. won the award in 1982 and ’86 while at Mason County.

“High school basketball is what our whole family has been about our entire lives,” Feldhaus Jr. said. “I knew at a young age what I wanted to do. It’s been special.”

He received 29 of 70 votes in a statewide survey of coaches. Holmes’ Jason Booher finished second with nine votes. Bullitt East’s Troy Barr, Scott County’s Billy Hicks and Montgomery County’s Happy Osborne tied for third with four votes apiece.

“The most special thing is that it’s voted on by your peers,” Feldhaus said. “I’m very humbled by that. These players have blessed me with a couple of nice years.”

With five senior starters leading the way — including Mr. Basketball and University of Kentucky-bound Dominique Hawkins — the Indians were among the state’s top teams all season. They finished third in the prestigious King of the Bluegrass Holiday Classic, losing to Ballard 88-86 in the semifinals, and won the always tough 11th Region Tournament with a 67-46 whipping of Lexington Catholic in the final.

After beating Wayne County 81-56 in the first round of the Sweet 16, Madison Central had to overcome deficits against Holmes in the quarterfinals, Hopkinsville in the semifinals and Ballard in the final to win its first state championship.

Ken-Jah Bosley’s 3-pointer with five seconds left gave the Indians a 65-64 victory over Ballard for the title and a 32-5 record.

“You have to have a lot of luck to win the ultimate prize, but I definitely thought we were capable,” Feldhaus said. “We played such an unbelievable schedule during the season … and that prepared us for those last three games of the state tournament. To win 32 games against that caliber of schedule probably exceeded by expectations. I thought we’d have a few more losses than that.”

Feldhaus, 50, is 406-201 in 20 seasons at Madison Central and 509-298 overall, having coached two years at Clinton County and five at Green County before taking his current job.

He played basketball for his father at Mason County and went on to play at Eastern Kentucky. His brother, Willie, is the athletic director and boys’ basketball coach at Russell County. Another brother, Deron, was a member of UK’s “Unforgettables” team in 1991-92.

Feldhaus admitted he won’t have such an abundance of talent at Madison Central next season but still expects the Indians to be competitive — and tough.

“My dad was definitely an old-school coach, and my college coach, Max Good, was very similar,” he said. “They were tough-nosed guys who played hard man-to-man defense, and that’s the way I’ve done it all 27 years, and I’m not going to change. I know the kids are changing, but that method and style works if you find the right kind of kids who buy in. That’s where I’ve been blessed to have a good group of kids who bought in.”


1946 — Bobby Laughlin, Breckinridge Training; 1947 — Earle Jones, Maysville; 1948 — McCoy Tarry, Brewers; 1949 — Letcher Norton, Clark County; 1950 — Ralph Carlisle, Lafayette.

1951 — Dale Barnstable, Manual; 1952 — Norton, Clark County; 1953 — George Conley, Ashland; 1954 — Delmas Gish, Central City; 1955 — John Burr, Adair County; 1956 — Bill Carter, Heath; 1957 — John Bill Trivette, Pikeville; 1958 — Norton, Clark County; 1959 — Charlie Lampley, North Marshall.

1960 — Jim Morris, Flaget; 1961 — Bob Wright, Ashland; 1962 — Elmer “Baldy” Gilb, Henry Clay; 1963 — Morton Combs, Carr Creek; 1964 — Gene Rhodes, Male; 1965 — Bill Harrell, Shelby County; 1966 — Harrell, Shelby County; 1967 — Bob Fox, Earlington; 1968 — Jim Richards, Glasgow; 1969 — Bob Graves, Louisville Central.

1970 — Gary Schaffer, Pleasure Ridge Park; 1971 — Jack Upchurch, Anderson County; 1972 — Ray Vencil, Elizabethtown; 1973 — Bob Barlow, Bryan Station; 1974 — Graves, Central; 1975 — Wade Houston, Male; 1976 — Richard Schmidt, Ballard; 1977 — Schmidt, Ballard; 1978 — Wayne Chapman, Apollo; 1979 — Charles “Jock” Sutherland, Lafayette.

1980 — Bobby Watson, Owensboro; 1981 — Barlow, Bryan Station; 1982 — Allen Feldhaus Sr., Mason County; 1983 — Craynor Slone, Carlisle County; 1984 — Gerald Sinclair, Logan County; 1985 — Glenn Collie, Seneca; 1986 — Feldhaus Sr., Mason County; 1987 — Bobby Keith, Clay County; 1988 — Keith, Clay County; 1989 — Keith, Clay County.

1990 — Gary French, Elizabethtown; 1991 — Nolan Barger, Tates Creek; 1992 — Danny Haney, Lexington Catholic; 1993 — Tim Davis, Marion County; 1994 — Billy Hicks, Corbin; 1995 — Gary Moore, Franklin County; 1996 — Curtis Turley, Greenwood; 1997 — Haney, Lexington Catholic; 1998 — Haney, Lexington Catholic; 1999 — Ernie Simpson, Bowling Green.

2000 — Jimmy Just, Iroquois; 2001 — Bryce Hibbard, Male; 2002 — Rodney Woods, Wayne County; 2003 — Kelly Wells, Mason County; 2004 — Wells, Mason County; 2005 — Mike Szabo, Trinity; 2006 — Buddy Biggs, Pendleton County; 2007 — Billy Hicks, Scott County; 2008 — Champ Ligon Jr., Bryan Station; 2009 — Jason Booher, Shelby Valley.

2010 — Szabo, Trinity; 2011 — Wayne Breeden, Tates Creek; 2012 – Allen Feldhaus Jr., Madison Central.

All-state teams

The Courier-Journal’s All-State basketball teams will appear in the paper on Sunday, April 21.

More USA TODAY High School Sports
Courier-Journal boys' coach of the year: Feldhaus repeats, putting him in a class with his dad
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit