Damon looks to get back on road to Atlantic City

Damon looks to get back on road to Atlantic City


Damon looks to get back on road to Atlantic City


Jefferson’s Bryan Damon won a District 3 106-pound championship last year, but stumbled at Region I.

The result: No state tournament appearance in Atlantic City.

This year, Damon looks to win the 113-pound weight class at the district and advance far beyond to Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City.

Here is a look at the district.


Where: Kittatinny High School.

Returning champions (last year’s weight in parenthesis): Bryan Damon, Jefferson (106); Michael Derin, High Point (120); Jason Giaccione, High Point (132); Nick Romyns, Kittatinny (138); Kieren Gerrity, Kittatinny (160); Kyle Stoll, High Point (182);

Toughest weight class: The expected 195-pound final between High Point’s Kyle Stoll and Kittatinny’s Dylan Wunder should be a great battle. The same can be said of the predicted 220-pound final between Kittatinny’s Garrett Armstrong and High Point’s Bobby McDonnell.

The deepest weight is probably 106, with High Point’s favored Dom Gallo joined by a host of good wrestlers who are pretty close in ability, namely Jefferson’s Bobby Shrieks, Sparta’s Garrett Gerndt, Pope John’s Austin Sisco, Kittatinny’s Jake Vanwingerden, Newton’s Trevor Morales, and Wallkill Valley’s William Hurtt.

Predicted Top 3

106–1. Dom Gallo (High Point); 2. Austin Sisco (Pope John); 3. Jake Vanwingerden (Kittatinny).

113–1. Bryan Damon (Jefferson); 2. Christian Silva (Kittatinny); 3. Dominic Koert (Pope John).

120–1. Jared Kobis (High Point); 2. Nick Klinger (Kittatinny); 3. Matt Tripodi (Jefferson).

126–1. Austin Scrivani (Kittatinny); 2. Ian Burke (Sparta); 3. Connor McHugh (High Point).

132–1. Joe Hocking (Wallkill Valley); 2. Tim VanLenten (Vernon); 3. Nils Holley (Jefferson).

138–1. Tom Murphy (Kittatinny); 2. Jim Lodema (Wallkill Valley); 3. Walker Schmitzer (Sparta).

145–1. Jason Gaccione (High Point); 2. Nick Romyns (Kittatinny); 3. Anthony Gigantelli (Pope John).

152–1. Luke Bohn (Jefferson); 2. Tommy Hooker (High Point); 3. Ryan Ward (Vernon).

160–1. Dave Popek (Kittatinny); 2. Moses Yasin (High Point); 3. Al Falco (Sparta).

170–1. Kieren Gerrity (Kittatinny); 2. Antonio Porraspita (High Point); 3. Tylar Creedin (Wallkill Valley).

182–1. Jake Brook (Kittatinny); 2. Josh Sibblies (Newton); 3. Drew Bye (High Point).

195–1. Kyle Stoll (High Point); 2. Dylan Wunder (Kittatinny); 3. Robert Hajnos (Jefferson).

220–1. Garrett Armstrong (Kittatinny); 2. Bobby McDonnell (High Point); 3. Isaiah Bryant (Pope John).

285–1. Noa Merritt (Pope John); 2. Andrew Willard (Jefferson); 3. Gunther Wassong (High Point).

Team champion: High Point. High Point and Kittatinny have both engaged in district dynasties over the past 13 years. Kittatinny won it last year, ending High Point’s six-year title run. Kittatinny had won seven straight District 3 championships from 1999-2006.

For Friday: District 4 and 10 preview.


More USA TODAY High School Sports