Edgewood's Dylan Ingram wins AISA back of the year

Edgewood's Dylan Ingram wins AISA back of the year


Edgewood's Dylan Ingram wins AISA back of the year


Dylan Ingram, after a record-setting season at Edgewood, won the AISA back of the year award today.

Ingram threw for 4,182 yards this season, the most in state history for either the AHSAA or AISA. In 2008, Tyler Caldwell had 4,132 yards passing for Cullman.
Ingram was 200-for-296 passing with 47 touchdowns and eight interceptions, helping the Wildcats to a third straight Class AA championship.
Today’s is not Ingram’s first major state award.
Ingram, a Mississippi State baseball signee, was the AISA baseball player of the year last spring and, with today’s award, became a rare dual-sport MVP.
Ingram is just the seventh player in the history of the Alabama Sports Writers Association awards to win in two different sports.
Most recently, Pike Liberal Arts’ Nick McLaughlin was the AISA baseball hitter of the year and the football lineman of the year in 2011.
Clarke Prep’s Jarrett Pope and Tuscaloosa Academy’s Jaevon Walton, both junior running backs, were also finalists for back of the year.
Edgewood has sported the last two AISA backs of the year. All-purpose Sam Coleman won last year.


Deon Harris, Alabama-Deaf
1987 1A basketball
1986 1A football
Brodie Croyle, Westbrook Chr.
1999 1A baseball
1999 1A football back
Allen Ponder, Lee-Scott
2002 AISA basketball
2002 AISA baseball
2001 AISA baseball
Chris Smelley, American Chr.
2005 1A football back
2005 1A baseball
Clint Moseley, Leroy
2008 2A football back
2008 2A baseball
2007 2A football back
Nick McLaughlin, Pike Liberal Arts
2011 AISA football lineman
2011 AISA baseball hitter


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Edgewood's Dylan Ingram wins AISA back of the year
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.