Ernie Davis Classic still scheduled for Wednesday

Ernie Davis Classic still scheduled for Wednesday


Ernie Davis Classic still scheduled for Wednesday


An East squad missing a batch of talent from teams chasing state championships intends to seek a fourth consecutive win over the West in the Ernie Davis Exceptional Senior Football Classic, scheduled for 7 p.m. kickoff Wednesday at Union-Endicott’s Ty Cobb Stadium.

Inclement weather, however, could factor into those plans. The Ernie Davis committee and Union-Endicott officials will make a final determination by mid-day Wednesday whether the field is playable due to weather conditions. No makeup date is planned.

The East leads the series 16-7 with wins in four of the past five editions, including one by 21-6 last year when the West committed eight turnovers — five on interceptions.

The East roster lists five players apiece from Chenango Forks and Maine-Endwell, but those young men have higher priorities — state title games Sunday in the Carrier Dome against Rye Neck and Schalmont, respectively.

Among those expected to suit up for the East are Union-Endicott’s Sammy Davis, who rushed for 1,614 yards, and Amman Weaver of Binghamton, another four-digit rusher. Representing Vestal will be tight end/linebacker Pat Carlin and quarterback Nick Wegmann, with fullback/linebacker Reggie Williams, quarterback Rick Balles and tight end Nick Neferis from Johnson City.

West options at quarterback will include Brandon Morris, who established Owego records for passing yards in a season (1,710, on 85-for-170 accuracy) and in a single game (423 against Horseheads). Newark Valley’s Division III runners-up will be represented by Larry Kasmarcik and Trevor Hoffmier, and among three from Corning will be dynamic quarterback Adarius France.

The game in named in honor of the late Ernie Davis, once an all-star running back at Elmira Free Academy who proceeded to Syracuse University — leading the Orangemen to the 1959 national championship — and in 1961 became the first African-American athlete to win the Heisman Trophy.

EAST: Shane Curtin (Bainbridge-Guilford); Morgan Faughnan (Binghamton); Joe Crowley (Binghamton); Greg Bostick (Binghamton); Amman Weaver (Binghamton); Isaiah Zimmer (Chenango Forks); JC Sweeney (Chenango Forks); Scott Craver (Chenango Forks); Paul Groover (Chenango Forks); Michael Zurenda (Chenango Forks); Bryan Pert (Chenango Valley); Gavin Ashman (Chenango Valley); Brian Ingram (Delhi); Tyler Cumpston (Delhi); Dan Babcock Deposit-Hancock); Alex Kosizky (Greene); Andrew Kimmel (Harpursville); Rick Balles (Johnson City); Reggie Williams (Johnson City); Nick Neferis (Johnson City); Darnell Woolfolk (Maine-Endwell); Alec Wisniewski (Maine-Endwell); Kyle Gallagher (Maine-Endwell); Seren Cody (Maine-Endwell); Kyle Urban (Maine-Endwell); Mike Sutton (Norwich); Jaden MacRabie (Norwich); Mat Robinson (Oneonta); Keyshawn Baker (Seton CC); Sean Goodman Seton CC); Zach Nages (Sidney); James Mitchell (Susquehanna Valley); Chris Vascello (Susquehanna Valley); Chris Bateman (Unadilla Valley); Kellen Komenda (Unatego); Corbin Henry (Unatego); Joey Orlando (Union-Endicott); Nick Yesensky (Union-Endicott); CJ Krowiak (Union-Endicott); Sammy Davis (Union-Endicott); Lucas DePofi (Union-Endicott); Pat Carlin (Vestal); Nick Wegmann (Vestal); Zach Cook (Vestal); Austin Kilmer (Walton); Josh Cady (Windsor); Mike Niggli (Windsor).

WEST: Alan Davis (Dryden); John Sheely (Dryden); Tyler Andrews(Dryden); Anthony Penn (Elmira); Anton Brown (Elmira); Darius Ham (Elmira); Eli Thomas (Elmira); James Mechalke(Elmira); Kevin Snyder (Elmira); Luke Proudfoot (Elmira); Rasean Brooks (Elmira); Brian Hale (Elmira Notre Dame); Eric Brennan (Elmira Notre Dame); Rob Johnson (Elmira Notre Dame); Zeke Wright (Groton); Jeff Hatfield (Groton); Anthony Sylvester (Horseheads); Brian Barnic (Horseheads); Nick Goodwin (Horseheads); Aidan McCarthy (Ithaca); Mike Gould (Ithaca); Tyler Spencer-Goodrich (Ithaca); Ben Rourke (Lansing); Elijah Burns (Lansing); Thomas Towner (Lansing); Tyler Winslow (Lansing); Larry Kasmarcik (Newark Valley); Trevor Hoffmier (Newark Valley); Dylan Porter (Odessa-Montour); Brandon Morris (Owego); Nick Figuerado (Owego); Dave Elston (Spencer Van-Etten); Hayden Grover (Spencer Van-Etten); Hunter Bergmark (Spencer Van-Etten); Carter Jackson (Tioga); Jake Howland (Tioga); Colin Fellows (Trumansburg); Dakota Lodge (Watkins Glen); Tony Simiele (Watkins Glen); Dylan Perry (Waverly); Jordan Huck (Waverly); Tim Sutton (Waverly); Andrew Gardner (Whitney Point); Dan Eaton (Whitney Point); Donovan Sturdevant (Whitney Point).


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Ernie Davis Classic still scheduled for Wednesday
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit