High school notebook: Lafayette Post 11 to host weekend baseball tourney

High school notebook: Lafayette Post 11 to host weekend baseball tourney


High school notebook: Lafayette Post 11 to host weekend baseball tourney


Lafayette Post 11 is hosting an eight-team tournament beginning today and going through Sunday at Loeb Stadium and Faith Christian school.

Post 11 will compete in Pool A at Loeb Stadium with Valparaiso Post 94, Logansport Post 60 and Richmond Post 65.

Remington Post 280, which features players from West Central, North Newton, Rensselaer, Benton Central, Tri-County, Twin Lakes and Frontier, competes at Faith along with other Pool B participants Kokomo Post 6, Highland Post 180 and Bristol Post 143.

Pool play begins at 11 a.m. today with Remington playing Highland at Faith and Bristol facing Kokomo at Loeb. Remington also plays immediately following the first game. Lafayette Post 11 plays at 4 and 6:30 p.m. today against Highland and Logansport, respectively. Lafayette plays at 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. Saturday.

Remington will play at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. Saturday.

Sunday will consist of a consolation game at 1 p.m. and the championship at 3:30 p.m.

Academic all-state

West Lafayette’s Brian Bangs and Brody Forbes were among five local baseball players to receive academic all-state honors from the Indiana Baseball Coaches Association. Joining the Red Devil duo are McCutcheon’s Andrew Roginski, Carroll’s Ryan Spesard and Clinton Prairie’s Evan Woods.

Four area softball players recently received academic all-state honors.

Lafayette Jeff’s Erin West, McCutcheon’s Aimee Hahm, Frontier’s Megan Doyle and Twin Lakes’ Chloe McAchren were among the 50 players statewide to receive the honor.

McCutcheon’s Nick Mack, Spencer Storms and Kendra Storz joined West Lafayette’s Shelby Mann, Christian Gatmaitan, Michael Crawford and Christopher Strickler and North Montgomery’s Ryan Bennett on the academic all-state track and field team.

Receving honorable mention from the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches were Erin Brophy, Emily Field, Heather Lucht, Malachi Baker, Philip Bower and William Mbongo (West Lafayette), Trevor Billings, Garrett Emerick and David Samuelsen (North Montgomery), Elijah Simms (Southmont), Jonathan Stingfellow (Tri-County) and Joseph Cortez (West Central).

Earning honorable mention academic all-state from the Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association were Rachel Berry and Katie Sigurdson from West Lafayette, Delphi’s Alexis Smith, North Montgomery’s Abby Williams, Frankfort’s Madison Jenkins and Covington’s Bailey Hill.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
High school notebook: Lafayette Post 11 to host weekend baseball tourney
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.