Lansing sophomore Shea McCartney named IAC North Large MVP

Lansing sophomore Shea McCartney named IAC North Large MVP


Lansing sophomore Shea McCartney named IAC North Large MVP



Four girls who led their respective teams to their conference championship games have been named most valuable players in the Interscholastic Athletic Conference. The league released its first- and second-team all-star squads Friday.

The only non-senior of the four conference MVP’s is Lansing sophomore Shea McCartney, who at 5-foot-5 led the Bobcats (16-2) with an average of 17.7 points and around eight rebounds per game. McCartney scored 12 points Thursday night in the Bobcats’ 49-31 Large School title-game loss to Waverly (18-0).

McCartney was joined on the North Large Division all-star first team by twin sister Maura and teammate Audrey Eastman, along with Anna Shelley and Megan McIntyre of Trumansburg and Brittney Randall of Whitney Point. The second team features Liz Gonyea and Brittney Mikula of Lansing, Vanessa Scott and Kate Holland of Dryden and Hannah Bieber of Whitney Point.

In the South Large, Sabrina Bowman of Waverly earned MVP honors and, like Shea McCartney, was joined on the all-star first team by her twin sister, Jenna Bowman. Other first-teamers included fellow Wolverine Reylyn Schwartzhoff — who scored a game-high 27 points in the Large School title-game win over Lansing — and Emiley Myers, along with Elmira Notre Dame’s Sheridan Heine and Olivia May. Second-teamers included Waverly’s Emily Walker, Notre Dame’s Kaylyn Curran, Newark Valley’s Marley Norton and the Watkins Glen duo of Madison Gates and eighth-grader Amanda Pike.

In the North Small Divison, Groton 5-8 senior Ruthanne Forehand was named MVP after a season in which she scored just over 12 points a game and led the Indians into Friday night’s Small Division title game against Tioga.

Forehand was joined on the first team by classmates Steffanie Preston and Kylene Hall, along with Marathon’s Elena Holl, Moravia’s Courtney Crossgrove and Southern Cayuga’s Sydney Cullen. The second team features Amanda Horton of Marathon, Emily Nemec of Moravia, Jessie Kopp and Adrienne Torea of Southern Cayuga and Marisa Valentino of Union Springs.

Callie Patsellis of Tioga was named South Small Division MVP after leading the Tigers into the Small School title game against Groton. Teammate and fellow senior Hannah Manwaring joined her on the all-star first team, along with Candor’s Sierra Szwec, Edison’s Page Tompkins and the Newfield senior duo of Erica Carney and Rebecca Wood.

Second-team all-stars from the Small South are Tioga’s Sierra Beebe and Emily Schweiger, Edison’s Nicole Bargesser and Katelyn Warren, and Newfield’s Megan Pakkala and Lindsey Wood.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Lansing sophomore Shea McCartney named IAC North Large MVP
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit