LeBreck, Toshner lead Fondy at FVA meet

LeBreck, Toshner lead Fondy at FVA meet


LeBreck, Toshner lead Fondy at FVA meet



Two trips to the finals for the Fond du Lac wrestling only resulted in two runner-up finishes on Saturday.

Shane LeBreck and Jason Toshner each wrestled their way to a title bout at the FVA tournament but came away with second-place finishes for the Cardinals.

LeBreck won his first match by injury default and then beat Kimberly’s Jordan Weinsetl, 4-2, in the semifinals. He lost to Kaukauna’s Ian Gioacchini 9-2 in the championship match.

Toshner had to endure a preliminary match where he pinned Menasha’s Saul Calderone in 1:14. He then stuck Neenah’s Chris Fowler in 3:42 and pinned Kaukauna’s Nick Agen in 3:01 to reach the final.

Toshner lost to Oshkosh West’s Nick Osowski, 10-3, in the championship match.

Josh Adams added a third-place finish at 126 pounds for the Cardinals, while Kyle Mader (138), Matt Ryan (152) and Ben Maruska (285) were each fifth.

Team scores: Kaukaun 282, Oshkosh West 180, Menasha 128, Appleton North 127, Oshkosh North 125, Kimberly 106, Neenah 85, Fond du Lac 84, Appleton West 36, Appleton East 13

106: Championship — Ian Gioacchini (KAU) dec. Shane LeBreck (FDL), 9-2. Third — Jordan Weinsetl (KIM) dec. Kyle Schwartz (ON), 4-0.

113: Championship — Tres Leon (KAU) major dec. Brandon Green (ON), 14-0. Third — Ian Maggay (KIM) dec. Senna Sieber (OW), 7-3.

120: Championship — Bailey VanHandel (KAU) dec. David Granatelli (AN), 5-4. Third — Chris Heck (AW) over Isaac Vosters (MEN), 2-1.

126: Championship — Robert Lee (KAU) pinned Jimmy Sell (MEN), 5:09. Third — Josh Adams (FDL) pinned Dellas Vandenberg (AN), 4:58.

132: Championship — Evan Hietpas (KAIU) dec. Samuel Merrill (OW), 5-0. Third — Justin Womble (MEN) dec. Alex Schwartz (ON), 10-4.

138: Championship — Justin Kloehn (KAU) dec. Bailey Whipple (MEN), 10-4. Third — Reed Matz (OW) dec. Daniel Buhrow (ON), 6-3.

145: Championship — Kevin Coenen (KIM) major dec. Darin Schoening (NEE), 16-5. Third — Cole Yoder (OW) dec. Tanner VandenHeuvel (KAU), 4-0.

152: Championship — Tim Schumann (OW) pinned Zach Frassetto (KAU), 1:51. Third — Kordell Schmoll (KIM) dec. Jadin Sell (MEN), 3-1.

160: Championship — Blair Mulholland (KIM) dec. Zach Shukoski (KAU), 6-5. Third — Will Dougherty (AN) dec. Jackson Curtin (AW), 3-2.

170: Championship — Jordan Abhold (OW) major dec. Jason Toshner (FDL), 11-2. Third — Nick Agen (KAU) pinned Chris Fowler (NEE), 2:12.

182: Championship — Torren Peebles (AN) dec. Luke Nelessen (NEE), 12-9. Third — Vince Zornow (KAU) dec. Corey Klapps (KIM), 5-1.

195: Championship — Nick Osowski (OW) pinned Nick Dercks (KAI), 4:33. Third — Liam Peebles (AN) pinned Ben Thompson (NEE), 3:51.

220: Championship — Zeek Hooyman (MEN) dec. Mitchell Ledwith (NEE), 4-3. Third — Tyler Nelson (KAU) pinned Tyler Karkula (OW), 4:30.

285: Championship — Will Russum (KAU) pinned Quincy Stokes (OW), 2:28. Third — Luke Hoffmann (AN) pinned Matt Veneskey (ON), 4:16.

Eastern Wisconsin Conference

Campbellsport’s Ryan Costello and Waupun’s Brady Huenink each captured conference titles to lead their respective squads.

Costello wrestled a total of one minute, 50 seconds on the day, posting two pins en route to the 126-pound title. He stuck Josh Becker of Sheboygan Falls in the semifinals in 1:33 and then needed just 17 seconds to beat Kewaskum’s Logan Dreher in the finals.

Alex Costello (106), Nick Stahl (120) and Taylor Flasch added second-place finishes, while Tyler Kohlmann (152) was third for the Cougars, who tied with Kiel for fourth place in the final standings.

Heunink earned the 182-pound title with a pin of Kewakum’s Ted Wollner in 1:35 and a 6-1 decision over Two Rivers’ Brian Duerschmidt for Waupun.

Taylor Huenink added a second place at 170 pounds, with Reid Zietlow (132), Kevin Messier (145) and Ashten Alexander (195) taking thirds for the Warriors.

Team scores: Two Rivers 221½, Sheboygan Falls 148, Kewaskum 138, Campbellsport 103, Kiel 103, Waupun 91½, Plymouth 62, New Holstein 50½

106: Championship — Paul Bianchi (TR) major dec. Alex Costello (CAM), 9-1; Third — Zach Heberer (KEW) pinned Erick Luna (NH), 2:43.

113: Championship — Ty Pelot (TR) pinned Tanner Woepse (KIEL), 1:10. Third — Ryan MCGinnes (SF) dec. Keagen Gustin (PLY), 6-2.

120: Championship — Cody Yauch (TR) dec. Nick Stahl (CAM), 10-6. Third — Nick Bier (KEW) dec. Ben Mannenbach (KIEL), 13-9.

126: Championship — Ryan Costello (CAM) pinned Logan Dreher (KEW), :17. Third — Josh Becker (SF) pinned J.J. Seifert (PLY), 3:49.

132: Championship — Alex Fitzgerald (SF) dec. Chris Yauch (TR), 10-7. Third — Reid Zietlow (WAU) dec. Jake Hawley (CAM), 6-0.

138: Championship — Chandler Donati (TR) dec. Trevor Miske (PLY), 10-3. Third — Austin Goeden (KEW) injury def. over Cole Fritsch (NH).

145: Championship — Jay Wallace (KIEL) major dec. Joey Seitz (KEW), 11-2. Third — Kevin Messer (WAU) dec, Austin Wiese (PLY), 7-1.

152: Championship — Brandon Broetzmann (SF) dec. Max Maertz (KEW), 7-2. Third — Tyler Kohlmann (CAM) dec. Jakob Ohman (PLY), 5-3, (ot).

160: Championship — Mitchell Lambrecht (SF) dec. Brett Scoles (KEW), 3-1. Third — Brad Dimmick (TR) tech. fall over Christian Flores (PLY), 21-6.

170: Championship — Wes Dimmick (TR) dec. Taylor Heunink (WAU), 9-4. Third — Aaron Field (KIEL) dec. Bryce Lueck (PLY), 10-8 (ot).

182: Championship — Brady Heunink (WAU) dec. Brian Duerschmidt (TR), 6-1. Third — Ted Wollner (KEW) pinned Kyle McCarty (SF), 2:49.

195: Championship — Austin Field (Kiel) pinned Nic Schroeder (TR), 3:45. Third — Ashten Alexander (WAU) dec. Brady Koller (SF), 8-2.

220: Championship — Drew Setzer (SF) pinned Taylor Flasch (CAM), 3:32. Third — Bobby Geiger (TR) pinned Alex Secord (NH), 2:17.

285: Championship: Scott Skornicka (TR) dec. Matt Halverson (KIEL), 5-4. Third — Garret Buth (KEW) pinned Tyler Testroete (SF), :41.

Trailways Conference

Oakfield’s Ross Ellison pinned both of his opponents en route to claiming the 113-pound title at the Trailways Conference meet.

Ellison stopped Horicon’s Austin Schmidt in 3:59 in the semifinals and then beat Deerfield’s Jared Gilbertson in 3:30 to win the title.

Wyatt O’Brien added a second place for the Oaks at 145 pounds, while Matt Gross was third at 106 pounds.

The Oaks had just four wrestlers competing at the tournament.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
LeBreck, Toshner lead Fondy at FVA meet
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.