Oshkosh West boys help set pace on all-FVA teams

Oshkosh West boys help set pace on all-FVA teams


Oshkosh West boys help set pace on all-FVA teams


Three Oshkosh runners landed on the all-Fox Valley Association first team it was released by the conference recently.

Seniors Brian McKnight of Oshkosh West and Riley Huffman of Oshkosh North as well as junior Jacob Rost of Oshkosh West earned spots on the 10-member first team.

Kimberly landed four runners on the first team in seniors Garrett Benz and Kevin Kilgas and sophomores Nicholas Rink and Derek Rink. The rest of the first team consisted of Neenah seniors Calvin Baumgartener and Brandon Puser and Appleton North senior Tanner Daines.

Oshkosh West senior Logan Polfuss and juniors Mitchell Beck and Sean Jirschele were named to second team, while senior Sam Moore and junior Rourke Lenz were on the honorable mention list.

Daines was named the runner of the year, while Kimberly’s Mike Heling was named Coach of the Year.

For the girls, Oshkosh West junior Lexi Briskie was named to the first team, while seniors Katie Vils of Oshkosh West and Michaela Welsh of Oshkosh North were named to the second team.

Area runners on the honorable mention list were senior Brooklyn Schamens and freshman Sammy Buerger of Oshkosh North and senior Megan Diermeier of Oshkosh West.

Neenah senior Jessica Parker was named runner of the year and was on first team with teammates Jennifer Parker, Jessie Laabs and Maraya Harn; Sarah Richardson and McKenzie Carper of Kimberly; Megan Buechel and Annie Moore of Fond du Lac; and Lauren Farina of Appleton North.

Neenah’s Mike Hiedke was named Coach of the Year.


First Team

Girls: Lexi Briskie, jr., Oshkosh West; Megan Buechel, jr., Fond du Lac; McKenzie Carper, sr., Kimberly; Lauren Farina, sophomore, Appleton North; Maraya Harn, jr., Neenah; Jessie Laabs, sr., Neenah; Annie Moore, soph., Fond du Lac; Jennifer Parker, sr., Neenah; Jessica Parker, sr., Neenah; Sarah Roichardson, sr., Kimberly.

Boys: Calvin Baumgartener, sr., Neenah; Garrett Benz, sr., Kimberly; Tanner Daines, sr., Appleton North; Riley Huffman, sr., Oshkosh North; Kevin Kilgas, sr., Kimberly; Brian McKnight, sr., Oshkosh West; Brandon Puser, sr., Neenah; Derek Rink, soph., Kimberly; Nicholas Rink, soph., Kimberly; Jacob Rost, jr., Oshkosh West;

Runner of the Year: Girls — Jessica Parker, Neenah; Boys — Tanner Daines, sr., Appleton North.

Coach of the Year: Girls — Mike Hiedke, Neenah; Boys — Mike Heling, Kimberly.

Second Team

Girls: Alyssa Barnes, soph., Neenah; Lauren Drankoff, soph., Appleton North; Ashley Handschke, fr., Kimberly; Dakota Holzem, soph., Appleton North; Ellen Knaus, jr., Neenah; Katie Vils, sr., Oshkosh West; Michaela Welsh, sr., Oshkosh North.

Boys: Mitch Beck, jr., Oshkosh West; Andrew Belot, jr., Neenah; Matt Bourland, soph., Neenah; Sean Jirschele, jr., Oshkosh West; Logan Polfuss, sr., Oshkosh West; Cole Robinson, sr., Kimberly; Levi Sampson, jr., Kimberly.

Honorable Mention

Girls: Sammy Buerger, fr., Oshkosh North; Megan Diermeier, sr., Oshkosh West; Katie Flood, jr., Appleton North; Morgan Manuel, sr., Appleton West; Morgan McClone, fr., Neenah; Brooklyn Schamens, sr., Oshkosh North; Madeline Smith, sr., Appleton West.

Boys: Drew Bartel, jr., Neenah; Evan Blom, jr., Kimberly; Jared Fahrenkrug, sr., Neenah; Travis Gosse, sr., Appleton North; Rourke Lenz, jr.,Oshkosh West; Colin Loomans, jr., Appleton East; Sam Moore, sr., Oshkosh West.

Eastern Valley

Berlin senior Kinsey Harmon was named Runner of the Year in the conference and led the seven-member first team.

Sophomores Malerie Harmon of Berlin and Abi Salm of Winneconne also earned first-team honors, along with Lauren Peters of Freedom, Courtney Grams of Little Chute, Allison Johnson of Clintonville and Emma Verbecke of Fox Valley Lutheran.

Berlin sophomore Julia Silloway and Ripon senior Katelin Cunningham were named to second team, while sophomore Taylor Greening and freshman Stephanie Melchor of Berlin earned spots on third team.

For the bots, Winneconne juniors Sam Engel and Luke Kubasta were second-team honorees, while Ripon senior Ben Reilly and Berlin sophomore Jacob Caswell earned spots on the third team.

Freedom’s Matt Vosters was the boys runner of the year.


First Team

Girls: Courtney Grams, soph., Little Chute; Kinsey Harmon, sr., Berlin; Malerie Harmon, soph., Berlin; Allison Johnson, jr., Clintonville; Lauren Peters, jr., Freedom; Abi Salm, soph., Winneconne; Emma Verbecke, jr., Fox Valley Lutheran.

Boys: Sam Hinz, jr., Freedom; Levi Jadin, sr., Freedom; Ryan Lemmers, sr., Freedom; Matthew McDermott, jr., Xavier; Joe Van Grinsven, sr., Little Chute; Matt Vosters, sr., Freedom; Parker Wyngaard, jr., Little Chute.

Runner of the Year: Girls — Kinsey Harmon, Berlin; Boys — Matt Vosters, Freedom.

Second Team

Girls: Abbie Botz, jr., Little Chute; Katelin Cunningham, sr., Ripon; Hailey Haen, sr., Freedom; Sara Messner, sr., Clintonville; Audrey Miller, soph., Xavier; Jessica Petruzates, jr., Clintonville; Julia Silloway, soph., Berlin.

Boys: Luke Bailey, fr., Xavier; Sam Engel, jr., Winneconne; Derek Hietpas, soph., Little Chute; Zack Hietpas, sr., Little Chute; Jacob Krug, sr., Fox Valley Lutheran; Luke Kubasta, jr., Winneconne; Luke Sampson, soph., Little Chute;

Third Team

Girls: Morgan Dietz, soph., Xavier; Taylor Greening, soph., Berlin; Santana Herbst, kr., Xavier; Stephanie Melchor, fr., Berlin; Megan Pauls, jr., Little Chute; Olivia Thern, jr., Fox Valley Lutheran.

Boys: Andrew Bailey, soph., Xavier; Nathan Broullire, fr., Xavier; Jacob Caswell, soph., Berlin; Jacob Green, sr., Freedom; Ben Reilly, sr., Ripon; Mitchell Rotta, soph., Waupaca; Caden Sampson, jr., Little Chute.


Omro’s Taryn Bosquez landed one of the eight spots on the all-Flyway Conference first team.

The Foxes’ Michelle Roth and Catalina Beriau landed on the second team for the girls, while Andy Wright was a second-team honoree for the boys. Dillon Heise and Dom Milis were honorable mention selections for Omro.


First Team

Girls: Liz Bohn, St. Mary’s Springs; Taryn Bosquez, Omro; Paige Case, St. Mary’s Springs; Briana Falk, Lomira; Hailey Isaac, Laconia; Rielly Louko, Oakfield/North Fond du Lac; Emily McGovern, St. Mary’s Springs; Erica Wenninger, Mayville.

Boys: Mitchell Bilitz, Winnebago Lutheran; Alan Burkart, St. Mary’s Springs; Alek Dykema, Ketytle Moraine Lutheran; Josh Frey, Winnebago Lutheran; Ryan Gurgel, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Sam Klein, Mayville; Alec Potter, Laconia; Brady Stuck, Kettle Moraine Lutheran.

Second Team

Girls: Catalina Beriau, Omro; Ally Francis, Laconia; Sam Freund, Winnebago Lutheran; Anna Lemke, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Kaytlin Kuczkowski, Lomira; Rebecca Reis, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Michelle Roth, Omro; Emily Tigh, Lomira.

Boys: Austin Holmen, Lomira; Justin Johnson, Laconia; Matt Kastein, Laconia; Tyler McFadzen, St. Lawrence Seminary; Grant Miller, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Zach Rosenau, Laconia; Alex Wendorff, Mayville; Andy Wright, Omro.

Third Team

Girls: Mary Falck, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Bailey Hoch, St. Mary’s Springs; Kelsey Knuth, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Morgan Krupp, St. Mary’s Springs; Brynn Lemond, Laconia; Ashley Nehls, Lomira; Sydney Schneider, Kettle Moraine Lutheran; Courtney Williams, Winnebago Lutheran.

Boys: Zach Bartz, Laconia; Ryan Easterson, Oakfield/North Fond du Lac; Alex Giese, Mayville; Dillon Heise, Omro; Justin Lammers, Lomira; Dom Milis, Omro; Todd Petrie, St. Mary’s Springs; Conner Yackels, Kettle Moraine Lutheran.


More USA TODAY High School Sports