OU-Z to honor 1993 baseball team

OU-Z to honor 1993 baseball team


OU-Z to honor 1993 baseball team


Ohio University-Zanesville will have its annual alumni baseball game at 11 a.m. April 21 at Tom Checkush Field.

The school’s Athletic Hall of Fame will induct members from the 1993 state and conference champion baseball team at 6 p.m. April 29 at the OU-Z Campus Center during a dinner sponsored by Century National Bank. The team finished the 1993 season with an 18-1 record, was Ohio Regional Campus Conference co-champions and the ORC state champion.

Members of the team include Bryon Bonkowski and Dan Wamer, of Sheridan; Shon Bender, of Maysville; Shane Dickenson, of Zanesville; Eric Fusner, Casey Vallee and Nate Worthington, of Crooksville; Jon Ward, of Philo; Paul Kimble, of West Muskingum; Woody Fox, of Watkins Memorial; Chad Orecchio, Chad Gibson and Craig Stoneburner, of John Glenn; Tim Scholl, of Coshocton, and Randy Gilbert, of Florida. Kevin Krumlauf, of Sheridan, was an assistant coach on the team that was led by head coach Doug Pollock. Honorees who will be recognized posthumously include assistant coach Tom Checkush and scorekeeper and groundskeeper Floyd Pollock.

Tickets for the event are $15 and will be for sale at the Information Center at OU-Z’s Elson Hall. For more information, email Athletic Director Doug Pollock at pollock@ohio.edu.


More USA TODAY High School Sports