Prep boys cross country overview: Vikings aim for return trip to State

Prep boys cross country overview: Vikings aim for return trip to State


Prep boys cross country overview: Vikings aim for return trip to State



Coach: Bill Dietrich, fourth year

Last year: First, OC

Returning letter-winners: Zack Leschke, sr.; Nate Yeager, sr.; Derek Doescher, jr.; Thomas Schwoerer, jr.; Talon Meyer, jr.; Isaak Riesterer. jr.; Zach Schuh, jr.; Logan Hubbartt. so.

Outlook: A return trip to state is the goal for the Vikings, who were sectional and conference champions in 2012. Valders returns four runners from the state team along with a host of others who are ready and willing to carry the torch.

Two Rivers

Coach: Greg Erickson, 18th year

Last year: Third, Eastern Wisconsin Conference

Returning letter-winners: Sam Bianchi, jr.; Nathan Grall, so.; Darian Schubring, so.; Caden Bennin, jr; Paul Bianchi, so.

Outlook: The Raiders may be young, but they are experienced. Only one of the top-returners is an upperclassmen, but Two Rivers has five returning letter-winners on the roster. A young, hard-working team paired with an open competition for the conference crown, could be a recipe for success.

Manitowoc Lincoln

Coach: Michael Bubolz, first year

Last year: 12th, Fox River Classic Conference

Returning letter-winners: Amari Bauer, jr.; Michael Thomspon, sr.; Ian Siebold, so.; Logan Lackershire, sr.; Austin Keehan, jr.; Jayden Libby, so.; Ben Thompson, so.; Isaac Carlson, so.

Outlook: The Ships will look to Bauer and 2012 Most Improved Runner Michael Thompson to help lead a squad made up predominantly of sophomores. Bubolz his team will show improvement as the year progresses.


Coach: Tim Schroeder, fifth year

Last year: Fourth, Olympian Conference

Returning letter-winners: Ben Wichlacz, sr.; Sam Schneider, sr.; Tyler Heyduk, sr.; Cole Becker, jr.; Brady Boettcher, jr.; Brant Schneider, jr.; Tomerot Lambert, so.; Cullen Hilliker, so.

Outlook: Roncalli returns its top-eight runners from 2012. Schroeder hopes that his team can be a contender after putting another year under its belts.


Coach: Tony Grybush, 24th year

Last year: Fourth, Eastern Wisconsin Conference

Returning letter-winners: Andrew Krumlin, sr.; Brandon Spindler, sr.; Thomas Heckmann, jr.; Ramsey Kammerzelt, jr.; Eric Weber, so.

Outlook: Grybush likes the potential his group has to replace the graduated seniors from a year ago. Teamwork will be the key if the Raiders are to stand firm in a competitive conference race.

Manitowoc Lutheran

Coach: Abbey Bubolz, second year

Last year: Third, Olympian Conference

Returning letter-winners: Josh Eickhoff, sr.; Brad Kasten, sr.; Jared Muench, sr.; Adam Schwede, sr.;

Outlook: The Lancers are an experienced bunch. All four returning letter-winners were state qualifiers in 2012. Bubolz hopes the experience will pay off in some of the season’s bigger meets.


Coach: Justin Gerlach, 11th season

Last year: N/A

Returning letter-winners: John Egdorf, so.; Jordan Sisel, jr.; Ryan Hutterer, jr.

Outlook: With a good number of new runners, Gerlach said that the first goal for his team will be building endurance. He added that he looks forward to seeing what the team can accomplish in the latter portion of the season.


Coach: Shawn Eckstein, second year

Last year: Ninth, OC

Returning letter-winners: Rhodey Sorenson, sr.; Mitch Schwahn, sr.

Outlook: A sizable freshmen class is the story for the Panthers, who only return three runners from the 2012 squad, including Schwahn, who was named last season’s Most Improved Runner.


More USA TODAY High School Sports