The Home News Tribune All-Area baseball team

The Home News Tribune All-Area baseball team


The Home News Tribune All-Area baseball team



1B Brennan Price Middlesex Sr.

New Jersey’s premier power hitter led the state with 62 RBI. Boasted a .856 slugging percentage that included 21 extra-base hits (11 doubles, 1 triple, 9 homers). Batted .443 with 28 runs scored. Used as designated hitter when not starting at corner infield spot. Rebounded from UCL tear in 2012.

2B Fernando Rosa Perth Amboy Sr.

Played second base in games after he threw as a pitcher. Batted .312 with 24 hits and 17 runs. On the mound, compiled a deceptive 5-6 record with a brilliant 1.77 ERA. Opponents batted .186 against Rosa. He fanned 78 batters and walked 36 in 71 innings. Hurled nine complete games.

3B Alex Christian Spotswood Sr.

Played five positions for the Chargers including 12 at third base. Led Spotswood in almost all offensive categories including .432 batting average. Collected 38 hits, 21 RBI and 23 runs. Had 17 extra-base hits including 12 doubles, 3 triples and 2 homers. He went 1-1 with a 1.62 ERA as a relief pitcher.

SS Tyler Heisch Middlesex Sr.

Sparkplug to school’s first state title since 2007. Leadoff batter led GMC with 52 hits. Scored 42 runs and had 25 RBI. Boasted a .464 batting average and a .527 on-base percentage. Committed just seven errors in more than 100 chances for a .912 fielding percentage.

C Justin Duran Edison Sr.

All-Greater Middlesex Conference selection and All-Red Division choice was arguably best defensive catcher in league. Erased 10 would-be base stealers. Led Eagles to Red Division title with a .324 batting average. Six of 24 hits went for extra bases. He walked nine times for a .471 on-base percentage.

OF Tommy Marcinczyk Middlesex Sr.

Home News Tribune’s Player of the Year batted and pitched the Blue Jays to Group I title. Went 11-0 with 0.89 ERA. Hurled 63 innings. Batted .557 with 49 hits including 19 for extra bases (12 doubles, 7 triples). Paced squad with 45 runs scored and 35 RBI. Will attend Rutgers on baseball scholarship.

OF Anthony Brocato Rutgers Prep Jr.

Led Rutgers Prep to its first Non-Public B championship, batting .500 while leading the state with 29 extra-base hits (17 doubles, 4 triples, 8 homers). Paced the Argonauts with 42 RBI, 46 hits and 36 runs. Stole 8 bases in as many attempts. Did not commit an error in 57 chances and had two assists.

OF Chris Lee J.P. Stevens Sr.

Four-year starter batted over .400 each season including .423 average as a season. Blended power (6 homers), with speed (14 stolen bases) and possessed an excellent eye (20 walks). recorded 33 hits, 10 doubles, 3 triples, 21 RBI and 35 runs. Homered 3 times in GMCT first-round win over Spotswood.

DH Aidan McDermott South Plainfield Jr.

Paced Tigers to North 2 Group III final and GMCT semifinal with team-leading .417 batting average. Collected 43 hits, 24 runs, 20 RBI, 14 doubles and a homer. Boasted a .583 slugging percentage. Committed just one error in 51 chances for .981 fielding percentage.

UT Christian Campbell Sayreville Sr.

Became Sayreville’s career wins leader, earning 23rd career victory on mound in season finale. Went 9-2 with a 2.04 ERA. Fanned 98 batters and walked 26 in 65 innings. Batted .342 with 29 runs, 25 hits and 14 RBI. Stole 15 bases in as many attempts. Will attend Rutgers on a baseball scholarship.

UT Mike Pfeiffer North Brunswick Sr.

Among GMC’s best all-around players. Led Raiders with .444 batting average. Collected 28 hits, 23 runs and 13 RBI. Fanned just once in 79 plate appearances. Went 5-1 with 2.27 ERA as pitcher. Struck out 41 batters and walked 17 in 49 innings. Had shutout win over J.F. Kennedy.

P Sean Keenan South Brunswick Sr.

Opponents batted .125 against Keenan, who will attend Marist College on a baseball scholarship. Went 8-1with 0.76 ERA. Had as many hits offensively (24) as he allowed all season (24) on the mound. Batted .333 with 18 RBI. Named GMC Cy Young award winner. Fanned 84 and walked 20.

P Adonis Hernandez J.F. Kennedy Sr.

Pitched J.F. Kennedy to first GMCT crown in school history. Defeated South Plainfield in semifinals and Monroe in finals. Went 5-1 with 1.64 ERA and two saves. Fanned 97 and walked 26 in 60 innings. Helped himself at plate, leading team with 3 homers. Collected 24 hits and 19 RBI.

P Danny Marsh Monroe Sr.

Hurled Monroe to first GMCT final since 1994, besting Dunellen’s Casey Wenzel in first round and South Brunswick’s Sean Keenan in semis. Went 4-2 with 51 strikeouts and 20 walks in 47 innings. Had 2.15 ERA. Went 10 innings in 1-0 win over J.F. Kennedy. Headed to Wagner on baseball scholarship.


1B Eric Giordano J.F. Kennedy Sr.
2B Casey Wenzel Dunellen Sr.
3B Jonathan Rodrigues Monroe Sr.
SS Joe Siecinski J.P. Stevens Jr.
C Colby Smith Rutgers Prep Sr.
OF T.J. Perkowski South Brunswick Sr.
OF Malcolm Kelsey Rutgers Prep Sr.
OF Brandon Abdul Old Bridge Jr.
DH Adam Tricarico Piscataway Sr.
UT Joe Coutinho Colonia Sr.
P Brandon Bielak St. Joseph Jr.
P Andrew Cohen Monroe Sr.
P T.J. Polito Edison Jr.
P T.J. Santiago Linden Sr.


1B Cody Burnham East Brunswick Jr.
2B Jeff Reinecke Middlesex Sr.
3B Walter Byleckie Middlesex Sr.
SS Zach Buccholz J.F. Kennedy Sr.
C Justin Marks South Plainfield Jr.
OF Tom Krapf East Brunswick Sr.
OF Jesse Lammers Woodbridge Sr.
OF Corey Brown Spotswood Sr.
DH Mike Hronich Metuchen Sr.
UT A.J. Celentano South Plainfield Sr.
P Fabian Navarro Edison Sr.
P Joe Stone J.F. Kennedy Sr.
P Mike Bernet Bishop Ahr Sr.
P Kris Fellin Middlesex Sr.


Bishop Ahr: Hunter Llerna, Mike Kelly, Alec Capik; Cardinal McCarrick: Eric Pacansky; Carteret: Erik Fruscella, Tyler Rodriguez, Anthony Spinelli; Colonia: Scott Durkin, Chris Czapik, Ryan Pennell; Dunellen: Tony McGuane, Mike DeMaria, Dylan Hoski; East Brunswick: Tyler McNamara, Anthony Quaglino, Max O’Connor, Nick Smutko; East Brunswick Tech: Luis Ramos; Edison: Anthony Hernandez, James Lombardo, Kevin Kirsh; Highland Park: James Webb; J.F. Kennedy: Chad Barrall, Tom Farley, Matt DeParis; Metuchen: Mike Redshaw Brian Eustice, Chris Micak; Middlesex: Dan Berardi, Anthony Keri; Monroe: Jeff Htam, Zach Gorham, Richie Poland; New Brunswick: Waldo Diaz, Ariel Hernandez; North Brunswick: Chris Iocca, Victor Konstantinovsky, Harrison Kaye; Old Bridge: Sean Blair, Nick Remshifski, Nick LaVecchia; Perth Amboy: Juan Batista, Jose Ortiz; Perth Amboy Tech: Jacob Vargas ; Piscataway: Casey Polusen, George Nesler, Jordan Scott; Piscataway Tech: Vincent Delemo; Rutgers Prep: P.J. Strahm, Spencer Diggings, Paul Nemergut, Michael Coiro; St. Joseph: Matt Woody, Brandon Ciambruschini, Mike Ramirez; Sayreville: Mike Carey, Vinnie Gambardella, Chris Ryan; South Amboy: Keith Warzecha, Timmy Kales, Matt Lavan, Nick Kales; South Brunswick: Brian Oates, Chris Huber, Jake Izzo, Ken Drost; South Plainfield: Pat Boyle, Taylor Born, Nick Muglia, Jeff Pellegrino; South River: Wyatt Boyler, Matt Leviton, Josh Ramos, Nick Lepore; Spotswood: Jack Dalrymple, Nick LoGatto, Chris Marlow, Cooper Cisco; J.P. Stevens: Trevor Yelencsics, Justin Wojciechowski; Frank Loguidice; Timothy Christian: Jeff Parker, Matt Zgorzynski; Wardlaw-Hartridge: Noah Ganz, John Anderson-Schmidt; Woodbridge: Nick Bradshaw, Juan Penas, Kyle Savoia, Josh Solano.


More USA TODAY High School Sports