Watchung Hills draws top seed for SCT

Watchung Hills draws top seed for SCT


Watchung Hills draws top seed for SCT


The 2013 Somerset County Boys Soccer Tournament was seeded Tuesday evening during a meeting of coaches at Ridge High School and Watchung Hills was awarded the top seed.

The Warriors, who bowed out in last year’s semifinals, will be seeking their first crown in 15 years. In their only appearance in the final, they played Bridgewater-Raritan to a scoreless tie and shared the championship. Defending co-champions Pingry and Hillsborough, received the No.2 and No. 6 seeds, respectively.

The Top four seeds receive a double-bye into the quarterfinals, while the No. 5-No.8 seeds get a first-round bye.

The tournament begins Friday with three first-round games, as Rutgers Prep was awarded a first-round forfeit in the 15-team field. The second round is slated for Oct. 5.

The quarterfinals are scheduled for Oct. 12 with the semifinals Oct. 19 and the final to be held Oct. 26 at Manville High School’s Ned Panfile Stadium.

Here are the seeds and matchups:

15-Manville at 10-North Plainfield, winner at 7-Montgomery, winner at 2-Pingry.

14- Bound Brook at 11-Immaculata, winner at 6-Hillsborough, winner at 3-Bridgewater-Raritan.

13-Franklin at 12-Ridge, winner at 5-Bernards, winner at 4-Gill St. Bernard’s.

9-Rutgers Prep at 8- Somerville, winner at 1-Watchung Hills.

Champions: Year-by-year

1978: Ridge

1979: Bridgewater West

1980: Ridge

1981: Bridgewater West/Ridge (co-champs)

1982: Bridgewater East

1983: Bridgewater West/Hillsborough (co-champs)

1984: Hillsborough/Ridge (co-champs)

1985: Pingry/Ridge (co-champs)

1986: Ridge

1987: Bridgewater West

1988: Pingry/Ridge (co-champs)

1989: Ridge

1990: Bernards/Ridge (co-champs)

1991: Pingry

1992: Pingry

1993: Bridgewater-Raritan

1994: Pingry

1995: Pingry

1996: Pingry

1997: Pingry

1998: Bridgewater-Raritan/Watchung Hills (co-champs)

1999: Franklin

2000: Pingbry-Bridgewater (co-champs)

2001: Pingry

2002: Immaculata

2003: Bridgewater-Raritan

2004: Pingry

2005: Pingry

2006: Hillsborough/Pingry (co-champs)

2007: Pingry

2008: Pingry






More USA TODAY High School Sports
Watchung Hills draws top seed for SCT
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit