Wednesday's high school roundup

Wednesday's high school roundup


Wednesday's high school roundup



Today’s playoff matchup: Community School of Naples (11-0) at West Palm Beach Oxbridge (8-2)

What to watch for: Community School of Naples — The Seahawks are hoping to finish off their best season as a football program with a win in the Gulf Atlantic Football Conference Championship. Quarterback Drew Tomaini has been the catalyst in the team’s historic year. The senior has thrown for 2,755 yards, completing over 61 percent of his pass attempts, with 35 touchdowns on just three interceptions. Sophomore George Schmelzle has been Tomaini’s favorite target, catching 48 of the passes thrown at him for 751 yards and 11 touchdowns. West Palm Beach Oxbridge — The Thunderwolves enter the championship game on a three-game winning streak. In each of those three games, the team has crossed the 50-point threshold, scoring 60 against Scheck Hillel Community School and Gateway Charter. The defense has been stout all season, too, with the team giving up a combined 48 points in all eight of its wins.

The News-Press pick: Community School of Naples 28-21

Boys soccer

Fort Myers 6, Island Coast 0: Brett Schumbacker scored two goals to lead the way for the Green Wave. Bryce Fall and Evan Simmons each dished out an assist.

ECS 7, Marco Island Academy 0 (From Tuesday): Santiago Sanchez led the way for the Sentinels (2-2) with a hat trick and Grayson Wilkes added ting two goals.

Girls soccer

Bishop Verot 2, Barron Collier 2: Katie Sullivan and Grace Danehy each netted a goal for the Vikings (3-0-2).

Girls basketball

Fort Myers 66, Lehigh 29: Jarya Outten led the way for the Green Wave (2-0) with 12 points. Logan Sanger and Larissa Roker added 10 points apiece.

Estero 56, Ida Baker 24: 116: Aaron Puckett (E) won by forfeit; 113: Cody Harris (E) pinned Angel Remedios; 120: David Swartz (E) won by forfeit; 126: Anthony Dempsey (E) won by forfeit; 132: Matthew Wasson (E) d. Mario Hernandez 13-5; 138: Nicholas LaCourte (E) won by forfeit; 145: Christian Padron (IB) pinned Otis Thrasher; 152: Riley Thompson (E) d. Christian Marzullo 9-1; 160: Nick Richards Pinned Ahmed Abed; 170: Joseph Mendez pinned Frisner Jabotte (E); 182: Jean Jourbain (IB) won by forfeit; 195: Brandon Hawley (E) pinned Adrian Trupo; 220: Jared DeFalvo (E) pinned Jacob Heidig; Heavyweight: Trenton Thrasher (E) pinned Mike Rodriguez.

Record: Estero (1-0).


More USA TODAY High School Sports