Weekend Rewind: Revisiting the New Rochelle miracle and a pair of controversial endings

Weekend Rewind: Revisiting the New Rochelle miracle and a pair of controversial endings


Weekend Rewind: Revisiting the New Rochelle miracle and a pair of controversial endings


The best videos from the weekend that was in high school sports.

We could devote this week's Rewind — and next week's Rewind, and the following week's Rewind… — entirely to New Rochelle's absurd buzzer-beater in the New York Section 1 Class AA title game. But we won't. In the unlikely event that you haven't already seen it (or just want to have your mind boggled again) here it is.

FLASHBACK: Morris Peterson's ridiculous buzzer-beater

And now on to some ridiculous plays that you may have missed…

Controversy in Worcester
Algonquin (Northborough, Mass.) trailed St. John's (Shrewsbury) by 20 points in the third quarter of the Division I Central semifinals on Sunday, but battled back and cut the deficit to one with less than a minute to play. St. John's extended its lead to four with 10 seconds remaining. On Algonquin's ensuing possession, Brad Canova drilled a 3-pointer from the left wing and appeared to get fouled, but no foul was called and St. John's escaped with a 52-51 win.

"It's not worth commenting on the officials," Algonquin coach Brian Doherty told the Daily News. It is what it is. I can't change it. They know what they did and I can't change it, so hey, let’s move on. I've got a video I'm going to show them."

You be the judge: should a foul have been called? A better question: why the heck was St. John's contesting a 3-pointer so heavily with a four-point lead?

A Post-Buzzer Buzzer-Beater
Crane (Mo.) defeated Crocker, 69-66, in the Class 2 state quarterfinal on Saturday, thanks to a shot by Riley Israel that probably shouldn't have counted. As Matt Schoch of the Springfield News-Leader writes, "I’ve looked at every video I can find, and each show Israel’s shot was released a bit after the buzzer. I don’t say that to disparage the officials, who have the toughest job in the building, especially when know-it-all reporters dot the gym. College and NBA officials have the benefit of replay, and I don’t blame them for getting the call wrong. This stuff happens, and it’s OK."

Lefty Line Drive
We're not sure when and where this happened, or who to credit for the amazing shot, but we thought it was worth sharing.

Timely Steal
This happened last week, but we never posted it. With Yankton (S.D.) and Lincoln tied at 50, Yankton was holding the ball for what it hoped would be the final shot of regulation. Lincoln's Nermin Krdzalic had other ideas. Krdzalic stole the ball with four seconds to play and banked in a 3-pointer to give the Patriots the win.


More USA TODAY High School Sports