What schools land the best high school boys basketball talent?

What schools land the best high school boys basketball talent?


What schools land the best high school boys basketball talent?


Ask any elite high school basketball player to run down their list of potential college destinations and there’s a solid chance that they’ll reel off at least one of these heavyweights: Duke, Kentucky, North Carolina, UCLA, Michigan and LSU.

It makes sense that these schools, which have combined for 29 national championships, have landed the most American Family Insurance ALL-USA first team selections since 1983.

T-1. North Carolina (14)
The Tar Heels boast a plethora of talent on this list, from NBA slam dunk champion Vince Carter to world champion Rasheed Wallace. Eric Montross led North Carolina to a national title over Michigan’s famed Fab Five in 1993, and Ty Lawson led the Tar Heels to the title in 2009. Joe Forte was named ACC Player of the Year in 2001.  

1983 – Dave Popson, Bishop O’Reilly (Kingston, Pa.)
1985 – Jeff Lebo, Carlisle (Carlisle, Pa.)
1985 – Kevin Madden, Robert E. Lee (Staunton, Va.)
1986 – J.R. Reid, Kempsville (Virginia Beach, Va.)
1986 – Scott Williams, Wilson (Los Angeles)
1990 – Eric Montross, Lawrence North (Indianapolis)
1993 – Jerry Stackhouse, Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.)
1993 – Rasheed Wallace, Simon Gratz (Philadelphia)
1995 – Vince Carter, Mainland (Daytona Beach, Fla.)
1999 – Joe Forte, DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.)
2002 – Raymond Felton, Latta (Latta, S.C.)
2006 – Ty Lawson, Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.)
2010 – Harrison Barnes, Ames (Ames, Iowa)
2011 – James McAdoo, Norfolk Christian (Norfolk, Va.)

T-1. Kentucky (14)
John Calipari has turned Lexington into the No. 1 destination for elite players these days, but the Wildcats have been landing upper echelon talent for the past three decades. John Wall was the No. 1 overall pick in the 2010 NBA Draft after leading the Cats to the regional final. Anthony Davis was also the No. 1 pick in 2012 after he and Michael Kidd-Gilchrist led Kentucky to its eighth national title. Ron Mercer led the Cats to a national title in 1996 and Rex Chapman racked up 1,073 points in just two years at the school.

1983 – James Blackmon, Marion (Marion, Ind.)
1986 – Rex Chapman, Apollo (Owensboro, Ky.)
1987 – Eric Manuel, Southwest (Macon, Ga.)
1988 – Chris Mills, Fairfax (Los Angeles)
1992 – Rodrick Rhodes, St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.)
1995 – Ron Mercer, Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.)
2009 – DeMarcus Cousins, LeFlore Magnet (Mobile, Ala.)
2009 – John Wall, Word of God (Raleigh, N.C.)
2010 – Brandon Knight, Pinecrest (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
2011 – Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, St. Patrick (Elizabeth, N.J.)
2011 – Anthony Davis, Prospectives Charter (Chicago)
2012 – Nerlens Noel, Tilton (Tilton, N.H.)
2013 – Julius Randle, Prestonwood Christian (Plano, Texas)
2013 – Aaron Harrison, Travis (Richmond, Texas)

3. Duke (10)
Jay Williams won National Player of the Year twice (2001, 2002) and led the Blue Devils to the national title in 2001. Bobby Hurley gave Mike Krzyzewski his first national title in 1991 and Danny Ferry was named National Player of the Year in 1989. Luol Deng helped the Blue Devils to the 2004 Final Four. Despite an injury that limited him to 11 games, Kyrie Irving went on to become the top pick in the 2011 NBA Draft. Kyle Singler was named Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 NCAA tournament after he led Duke to its fourth national title.

1985 – Danny Ferry, DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.)
1989 – Bobby Hurley, St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.)
1994 – Ricky Price, Carson (Carson, Calif.)
1999 – Jay Williams, St. Joseph (Metuchen, N.J.)
2003 – Luol Deng, Blair Academy (Blairstown, N.J.)
2005 – Josh McRoberts, Carmel (Carmel, Ind.)
2007 – Kyle Singler, South Medford (South Medford, Ore.)
2010 – Kyrie Irving, St. Patrick (Elizabeth, N.J.)
2011 – Austin Rivers, Winter Park (Winter Park, Fla.)
2012 – Jabari Parker, Simeon (Chicago)
2013 – Jabari Parker, Simeon (Chicago)

4. Michigan (7)
Chris Webber and Juwan Howard were two of the five players that made up the famed Fab Five, which led Michigan to two since-vacated Final Four appearances. Webber was dominant in his two years at Michigan and managed 21 points in the 1993 national title game. Still, he’ll always be remembered for the infamous timeout he called with 11 seconds left in the game, which ultimately cost the Wolverines a title. Terry Mills helped the Wolverines win their only title in 1989, playing alongside Glen Rice.

1983 – Antoine Joubert, Southwestern (Detroit)
1986 – Terry Mills, Romulus (Romulus, Mich.)
1986 – Rumeal Robinson, Rindge and Latin (Cambridge, Mass.)
1991 – Juwan Howard, Chicago Vocational (Chicago)
1991 – Chris Webber, Country Day (Detroit)
1994 – Jerod Ward, Clinton (Clinton, Miss.)
1999 – LaVell Blanchard, Pioneer (Ann Arbor, Mich.)

T-5. UCLA (6)
Ed O'Bannon cranked in 30 points and grabbed 17 rebounds in the 1995 national title game to help the Bruins knock off Arkansas. That earned him MVP honors for the tournament and he also won National Player of the Year. Baron Davis was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 1998 and First Team All-American Kevin Love led the Bruins to the Final Four in 2008.

1990 – Ed O’Bannon, Artesia (Lakewood, Calif.)
1997 – Baron Davis, Crossroads School (Santa Monica, Calif.)
2007 – Kevin Love, Lake Oswego (Lake Oswego, Ore.)
2008 – Jrue Holiday, Campbell Hall (Studio City, Calif.)
2012 – Shabazz Muhammad, Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas)
2012 – Kyle Anderson, St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.)

T-5. LSU (6)
The Tigers are the only team on the prestigious list without a national title, but it's not for a lack of talent. John Williams helped the Tigers reach the Final Four in 1986, pumping in 14 points in a loss to Louisville. Stromile Swift led the Tigers to the Sweet 16 in 2000. Chris Jackson was a consensus SEC Player of the Year in 1989 and 1990 and set an NCAA freshman scoring record, averaging 30.2 points per game.

1984 – John Williams, Crenshaw (Los Angeles)
1985 – Tito Horford, Marian Christian (Houston)
1988 – Chris Jackson, Gulfport (Gulfport, Miss.)
1990 – Jamie Brandon, King (Chicago)
1993 – Randy Livingston, Isodore Newman (New Orleans)
1998 – Stromile Swift, Fair Park (Shreveport, La.)

Follow Jason Jordan on Twitter @JayJayUSATODAY.


More USA TODAY High School Sports