WIAA state football: Duranso helps lift Arrowhead to title

WIAA state football: Duranso helps lift Arrowhead to title


WIAA state football: Duranso helps lift Arrowhead to title



Johnny Duranso threw for 235 yards and three touchdowns as Hartland Arrowhead won its second consecutive WIAA Division 1 championship, beating Franklin 45-24 at Camp Randall Stadium.

The Warhawks (13-1) broke a 17-17 tie in the third quarter by scoring the game’s next 28 points, including a 44-yard interception return by Charlie Reuteman. The touchdown stood despite the ball being fumbled out of the back of the end zone since instant replay is not used in Wisconsin high school football.

It was the sixth title for the Warhawks, tying Edgar and Lancaster for second-most in history.

Sean McGuire threw for 250 yards and rushed nine times for 61 yards and a touchdown for Franklin (12-2), but was intercepted three times that led to 14 second-half points for the Warhawks.

Monona Grove 21, Greendale 17

Senior tailback Brock Offerdahl’s one-yard plunge with 53 seconds remaining helped Monona Grove erase a 17-0 deficit to beat Greendale.

Monona Grove (14-0) had been scoreless on five trips inside the Greendale 30, turning the ball over four times on down and committing one fumble.

Then the Silver Eagles made a 10-play, 72-yard drive.

Senior quarterback Tyler Blang threw two second-half touchdowns, including a 29-yard pass to Jackson Riley to set up the winning score.

Greendale (13-1) scored a season-low 17 points.

Quarterback Josh Ringleberg completed 18 of 27 passes for 270 yards, including a 97-yard touchdown pass to Nate Miller late in the second quarter. It was the second longest play in the WIAA finals.


More USA TODAY High School Sports