Women’s College Cup runneth over

Women’s College Cup runneth over

Gatorade Player of the Year

Women’s College Cup runneth over


Back in 1985, Gatorade established an award honoring the nation's top high school student-athletes. Since then, the Gatorade Player of the Year award has recognized more than 12,500 state and national winners in 12 sports.

Gatorade Player of the Year alumni include household names like Kevin Love, Dwight Howard, Peyton Manning, Derek Jeter, Candace Parker, Kerri Walsh and Abby Wambacha distinguished group, indeed.

This week, we're catching up with NCAA women’s soccer stars.

As usual, this weekend’s NCAA Women’s College Cup rosters are filled with former Gatorade Girls Soccer Players of the Year.

The four teams competing for the Division I women’s soccer championship feature a total of 19 former winners representing 16 states who own a total of 28 Gatorade State Player of the Year trophies.

After the program’s first victory against perennial powerhouse North Carolina, UCLA enters the College Cup with eight POY alumni—the most of the four teams remaining—from eight different states.

Virginia features the lone Gatorade National Player of the Year of the bunch, Morgan Brian, who scored in a quarterfinal win over Michigan that propelled the Cavaliers to their first Cup appearance since 1991. She is joined by four other Gatorade State Player of the Year winners on Virginia.

Brian amassed 71 goals and 30 assists as a prep senior at Saint Simons Island (Ga.) Frederica Academy in 2011, taking home a second Gatorade Georgia Girls Soccer Player of the Year award, the National POY honor and the Gatorade Female High School Athlete of the Year trophy.

Former Gatorade Minnesota Girls Soccer Player of the Year Kassey Kallman, who led Woodbury (Minn.) High to two state titles, got the scoring started in Florida State’s 4-0 quarterfinal win over Boston College. She is joined by two more Gatorade State Players of the Year.

Virginia Tech makes its first College Cup appearance thanks to another trio of Gatorade State POYs, including New Jersey’s Shannon Mayrose and Delaware’s Jazmine Reeves, who each scored a goal in the Hokies’ 3-0 quarterfinal shutout of Duke.

Check out the 19 Gatorade State Girls Soccer Player of the Year winners who will participate in this Friday’s Women’s College Cup semifinals.

Sarah Killion (2009, 2010, 2011 IN)
Jenna Richmond (2009, 2010 VA)
Abby Dahlkemper (2010, CA)
Sam Mewis (2010, 2011 MA)
Caprice Dydasco (2011 HI)
Lauren Kaskie (2011 NV)
Megan Oyster (2011 IL)
Gabbi Miranda (2013 CO)

Annie Steinlage (2009, 2010 MI)
Morgan Brian (2010, 2011 GA; 2011 NPOY, NAOY)
Danielle Colaprico (2011 NJ)
Emily Sonnet (2012 GA)
Alexis Shaffer (2012, 2013 NC)

Kassey Kallman (2010, MN)
Anna McClung (2011, 2012 VA)
Carson Pickett (2012 FL)

Shannon Mayrose (2008 NJ)
Jazmine Reeves (2009, 2010 DE)
Ashley Meier (2012 OH)


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Women’s College Cup runneth over
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.