Wrestling alliance awards scholarships

Wrestling alliance awards scholarships


Wrestling alliance awards scholarships


Five high school wrestlers received $10,000 scholarships at the 49th annual Delaware Wrestling Alliance awards banquet Wednesday night at the Modern Maturity Center in Dover.

The $50,000 in scholarships brought the DWA’s 20-year total to $706,000 in academic help for wrestlers in their senior year of high school. The scholarships are awarded based on academics, leadership, community service, character and wrestling achievements.

The DWA Scholarship was renamed the Alfred “Buddy” Hurlock Memorial Scholarship, to honor the late News Journal sportswriter. Charter School of Wilmington wrestler Kenny Testa received the first Hurlock scholarship.

Milford’s Alvontae Drummond received the Zane Q. Robinson Memorial Scholarship. Jake Vick of Middletown was awarded the Howard L. Duncan Scholarship. Max Wilt of Caesar Rodney received the Louis J. Sneed Scholarship. Salesianum’s Tommy Wilmoth was awarded the John J. Meys Scholarship.

Wilmington Friends was named the Academic All-State team of the year and also earned the William H. Laurelli team sportsmanship award. John Brancaccio received the DWA Service Award.

Smyrna’s Brent Fleetwood was presented with The News Journal Wrestler of the Year award. Smyrna’s Kurt Howell was honored as the Division I coach of the year, while Smyrna’s Kent Robinson was named the Division I assistant coach of the year. St. Georges’ Nate Pellegrini was named the Division II coach of the year, and St. Georges’ Dustin Craighton and Pat Atkinson were honored as the Division II assistant coaches of the year. Michael Jordan was named the Matthew J. Holloway Official of the Year.

More USA TODAY High School Sports
Wrestling alliance awards scholarships
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit http://usatodayhss.com.