Aaron, McPhee voted AP Washington players of year

Aaron, McPhee voted AP Washington players of year


Aaron, McPhee voted AP Washington players of year


SEATTLE — Mount Rainier star Brittany McPhee has repeated as The Associated Press Washington girls’ state player of the year, while Rainier Beach’s Shaqquan Aaron was honored as the state player of the year for the boys.

McPhee and Aaron were honored on Thursday after voting by sports writers and editors from around the state. The pair was also honored as the players of the year in their respective classifications.

The Stanford-bound McPhee led Mount Rainier to the state championship game in Class 4A after a season during which she averaged 27 points and 14 rebounds per game. Her 2,815 career points are believed to be a state record.

Aaron, who will take his game to Louisville next season, led the Vikings to an undefeated season and the Class 3A title.

Aaron averaged 20 points, eight rebounds and seven assists per game for Rainier Beach.

McPhee is a three-time honoree as the Class 4A player of the year, earning the award as the top player in her classification since she was a sophomore. She’ll head off to Stanford as one of the most decorated girls high school players in state history.

Aaron was a first-team selection in Class 3A last year as a junior.

On the boys’ side, Garfield’s Tramaine Isabell was voted the Class 4A player of the year after leading the Bulldogs to their first state title since 1998. Isabell had 34 points in the state title game win over Richland. Race Martin of Pullman and Philip Winston of Clover Park were voted the co-players of the year in Class 2A. Brady Widner of Zillah was a near-unanimous choice as the Class 1A player of the year, as was Colton’s Jake Straughan in Class 1B.

Class 2B also saw a split vote with Dexter Sienko of St. George’s and Shane Souvenir of Wahkiakum sharing the player of the year honor.

Cleveland senior Makala Roper repeated as the Class 3A girls’ player of the year after winning a second straight state title. Teammate Myzhanique Ladd was also voted to the Class 3A first-team.

Nike McClue of W.F. West was voted the Class 2A player of the year after helping the Bearcats to the state title. Chandler Smith of Brewster capped her career with a second consecutive honor as the Class 1A player of the year. Smith, headed to Nebraska next season, averaged more than 20 points per game.

Jenna Moser of Colton also repeated as the player of the year in Class 1B, while White Swan’s Cayla Jones was voted the Class 2B player of the year.


More USA TODAY High School Sports