All-Area Team: Girls Cross Country

All-Area Team: Girls Cross Country


All-Area Team: Girls Cross Country


First Team

Sarah Candiano

School: ECS

Year: Junior

Highlights: Candiano won the District A-11 meet in 18:18.10, took fifth at regional and punctuated her season with a seventh-place finish at the Class A state meet in 18:44.24.

Daley Cline

School: Estero

Year: Sophomore

Highlights: Finished sixth overall and second for Estero at the Class 3A state meet in 18:38.67. She added a third at the LCAC, third at the district and sixth at the regional meets.

Emily Edwards

School: Fort Myers

Year: Senior

Highlights: Edwards collected a lot of hardware this season, winning the LCAC, District 3A-11 (19:06.20) and Region 3A-3 titles and topped it all off with a Class 3A state championship with a winning time of 18:09.24. She took second in the pre-state elite meet in 18:00.48.

Megan Giovanniello

School: Baker

Year: Freshman

Highlights: Giovanniello finished fifth at LCAC, fourth at district, eighth at regional and took 20th at the Class 3A state meet in 19:10.

Bethany Jenkins

School: Estero

Year: Senior

Highlights: Jenkins placed fourth at LCAC, sixth at district and 10th at regional and took 10th at the Class 3A state meet in 18:52.74.

Araceli Leon

School: Estero

Year: Senior

Highlights: Leon paced Estero to its fourth straight state title by taking fifth at the Class 3A state meet in 18:31.31. She also took second at the LCAC, District 3A-11 and Region 3A-3 meets.

Breanna Salcedo

School: Cypress Lake

Year: Sophomore

Highlights: Salcedo finished fifth at district, ninth at the Region 3A-3 meet in 19:48.40 and capped her season with a 16th-place finish at the Class 3A state meet in 19:08.44.

Second Team

Second Team

Kayla Easterly, North Fort Myers

Sarah Pederson, North Fort Myers

Jill Richter, ECS

Katie Slater, Estero

Megan Slater, Estero

Mallory Towe, Fort Myers

Madison Wagner, Fort Myers




Rebecca Cicoria, Alexandria Vanhoose

Bishop Verot:

Allison Oliva


Kendall Flaharty, Katie Flaharty

Cape Coral:

Melanie Lugo

Cypress Lake:

Heidi Churchill, Olivia Howard


Narupat Syndey Tipayaosoth, Kodi Marie Barry

East Lee:

Rosibel Lara, Brenda Romero


Elise Tutton


Girls Sierra Oliveira, Taylor VanLandschoot

Fort Myers:

Shelby Guttery, Caline McCarthy


Ivonne Badillo, Carla Mateo

Island Coast:

Leanna Ellis


Ana Arreola, Ana Figueroa


Isabelle Foy

North Fort Myers:

Kaitlyn Karkota, Abbie Larson, Paige Renyhart


Taylor Endersbee


Victoria Jynella

Coach of the Year

Jeff Sommer


The Wildcats graduated their top two runners from their 2012 state championship team. No problem. Sommer’s squad still dominated throughout the 2013 season as Estero won its fourth girls state cross country championship in a row.


More USA TODAY High School Sports