Area notebook: Football, basketball all-star games feature plenty of local talent

Area notebook: Football, basketball all-star games feature plenty of local talent


Area notebook: Football, basketball all-star games feature plenty of local talent


Eight area players will take part in the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association all-star games July 19 at Titan Stadium in Oshkosh.

There will be two North-South games featuring top high school seniors from the state. The small-school game will take place at noon, and the large-school game at 5 p.m.

Area players who will play for the North large-school team are: Seymour defensive back Dylan Beyer, Bay Port offensive lineman Jacob Busch, Green Bay Notre Dame defensive back Zach DeVroy, Green Bay Southwest running back Jake Gorzek, Ashwaubenon defensive end Nathan Jarvis and Bay Port defensive lineman Terrell Wendricks.

Wrightstown tight end Doug Fabry and Crivitz’s Ben Fischer will play for the North small-school team.

WBCA all-star games

Nineteen area players will compete in the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association boys and girls all-star games in June at Wisconsin Dells’ JustAGame Fieldhouse.

The event features top senior players from the state competing in one of five games divided by WIAA tournament divisions. The games pit North vs. South, and all area players listed will compete for the North.

The girls games take place June 20. The eight area players participating are: Green Bay Notre Dame’s Eliza Campbell and Allie LeClaire (D2), Oconto Falls’ McKenna Larsen (D3), Algoma’s Meg Ryan and Kennedy Blahnik (D4), Oconto’s Laken James (D4), Elcho’s Makayla Raith (D5) and Goodman/Pembine’s Courtney Goyak (D5).

The boys games will be held June 21. The 11 area players are: Bay Port’s Ty Sagal (D1), De Pere’s Mitch Winter (D1), Seymour’s Sandy Cohen (D2), West De Pere’s Chandler Diekvoss (D2), Pulaski’s Luke Van Lanen (D2), Wrightstown’s Doug Fabry (D3), Crandon’s Kory Kincaid (D4), Oconto’s Conner Moe (D4), Florence’s Connor Beaster (D5) and N.E.W. Lutheran’s Nathan Toenjes and Dakota Zinser (D5).

Green Bay Notre Dame’s Sara Rohde and Erin Templin will be coaches for the D2 North girls team, while Oconto Falls’ Mike Kaczmarek will be a coach for the D3 North girls team. Algoma’s Mark Zastrow and Lonnie Fenendael along with Oconto’s Russ Young will coach the D4 North girls team.

Pulaski’s Dave Shaw will be one of the coaches for the D2 North boys team.

Pavlovich earns weekly honor

UW-Oshkosh junior Joe Pavlovich was named Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference baseball pitcher of the week for March 24-30.

The Denmark native pitched eight scoreless innings to pick up the win during the Titans’ 11-0 shutout of Thomas College (Maine) on Thursday.

Pavlovich retired the first 12 batters he faced and recorded seven strikeouts with a walk.


More USA TODAY High School Sports