Boys track and field overview: TR looks to contend in EWC once again

Boys track and field overview: TR looks to contend in EWC once again


Boys track and field overview: TR looks to contend in EWC once again


Two Rivers

Coach: Scott Helling, 16th year

Last year: Second place, Eastern Wisconsin Conference

Returning letter winners: Dexter Smith, sr.; Sam Bianchi, jr.; Cody King, jr.; Chris Yauch, jr.; Andrew Henderson, jr.; Nathan Grall, so.; Derek Schrimpf, so.; Darian Schubring, so.; Brandon LaChappelle, so.; Trevor Smith, so.; Ethan Willman, jr.; Cadin Bennin, jr.

Outlook: The Raiders have just two seniors on the roster, which Helling noted is the lowest number of seniors he’s had during his tenure. However, TR features five returning sectional qualifiers: Yauch (pole vault), Bianchi (3,200), Willman (110 and 300 hurdles), Smith (long jump, triple jump, and high jump), and Henderson (long jump). Helling believes his team can contend for a conference title if they are able to remain healthy.

Manitowoc Lincoln

Coach: Jacque Bartow, third year

Last year: 11thplace, Fox River Classic Conference

Returning letter winners: Collin Saubert, sr.; Michael Thompson, sr.; Amari Bauer, jr.; Bailey Seidl, so.; Eric Fogltanz, so.; Austin Haupt, jr.; Derek Muck, jr.; Paul Beyer, jr.; Alec Seguin, so.

Outlook: Bartow is pleased with the significant increase in athletes. The Ships feature 22 returners and nine letter winners and four sectional qualifiers. Saubert was a sectional qualifier in discus a season ago. Bauer made it in the 3,200 and Fogltanz qualified in the 300 hurdles. Seidl was a member of a 4×100 relay team which advanced to sectionals.


Coach: Kevin Fix, first year

Last year: 10th place, OC

Returning letter winners: Tim Kue, sr.; Jordan Sisel, jr.; Kyle Hutterer, jr.; John Egdorf, so.; Lucas Miller, so.

Outlook: Fix sees a group of determined athletes who are ready and willing to work hard and be leaders. Egdorf highlights the list of returning athletes. He was a sectional qualifier in distance a year ago and was also the team’s MVP.


Coach: Ray Baranczyk, 33rd year

Last year: Sixth place, OC

Returning letter winners: Shane Johnson, sr.; Tomerot Lambert, so.; Cullen Hilliker, so.; Alex Klein, sr.; Mike Thiele, sr.; Zach Schneider, so.; Chaz Kerscher, sr.; JonPaul Ruether, sr.; Spencer Fricke, sr.; Greg Mueller, jr.; Erik Raboine, so.; Matt Eis, sr.; Ivan Loyo, sr.; Cung King, sr.; Ben Wichlacz, sr.; Nathan Hoffman, sr.; Greg Mueller, jr.; Cole Becker, jr.; Sam Brahm, jr.; Stephen Schmidt, jr.; TJ Kleckner, jr.; Caleb Juza, so.; Joey Macdonald, sr.; Vinnie Schad, sr.; Sam Hamachek, jr.

Outlook: Baranczyk views his squad a nice mixture of veteran and young talent. Johnson, Schneider, Kerscher, and Ruether qualified for sectionals in the 800 relay a season ago.


Coach: Steve Sturtz, 30th year

Last year: Eighth place, OC

Returning letter winners: Casey Fenlon, sr.; Rhodey Sorenson, sr.; Dakota LeCaptain, jr.; Brenton Ott, jr.; Grant Wedepohl, jr.

Outlook: The Panthers have their eyes set on an improved finish in the OC. Sturtz believes that he has a dedicated core of athletes, including Wedepohl who was a state qualifier in the 800 last year. He added that a crop of newcomers will help add the depth and talent. Sturtz is hoping to see his team place in the top four in the OC.


Coach: Travis Olson, ninth year

Last year: Sixth place, EWC

Returning letter winners: Aaron Field, sr.; Adam Hecker, sr.; Trevor Agnew, jr.; Zach Vogel, jr.; Cameron Freund, jr.; Jack Meunier, jr.; Jesus Sandoval, jr.; Tyler Barber, jr.; Thomas Heckmann, jr.; Ramsey Beckmann, jr.; Bryce Gannigan, jr.; Ramsey Kammerzelt, jr.; Josh Kuhn, so.; Jacob Westphalen, so.

Outlook: Olson hopes to see the Raiders place in the top three in the conference. Field is one of the top returners. He qualified for state in the 200 last season. Olson noted that the addition of two senior newcomers will help contribute to the team’s success in jumping events.


More USA TODAY High School Sports