Byrd's Chad Lott nabs 5A all-state honor

Byrd's Chad Lott nabs 5A all-state honor


Byrd's Chad Lott nabs 5A all-state honor


Greg White-Pittman, of Holy Cross, and Jennifer Clark, of Mount Carmel Academy, saw their seasons end in different ways. That didn’t keep the two New Orleans standouts from claiming the top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State teams.

White-Pittman garnered the Most Valuable Player award for the boys team, while Clark received the girls MVP honor from a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Clark, who averaged 10.4 points per game for the season, averaged 21.5 points a game in the playoffs while leading the Cubs to their first basketball state title at the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s Girls Top 28 tournament.

White-Pittman compiled averages of 25.6 points, 5.5 rebounds and 4.2 assists per game for a Holy Cross team that lost to eventual semifinalist St. Augustine in the first round of the playoffs.

Micah Coleman, of boys state champion Natchitoches Central, and Barbara Weary-Cox, of girls runner-up Helen Cox, claimed Coach of the Year honors.

Coleman coached NCHS to its first state title in boys basketball and a 31-3 record. Weary-Cox’s squad finished with a 25-9 record that included a berth in the semifinals.

Scotlandville’s Ezekiel Brown (16.2 points, 7.0 assists), East Ascension’s Ja’Cardo Hawkins (16.2 points, 10.1 rebounds, 4.2 blocks), Byrd’s Chad Lott (23.0 points, 8.0 rebounds, 6.0 assists) and Cox’s Dominic Magee (22.3 points, 7.0 rebounds, 4.1 assists) complete the boys first team.

Joining Clark on the girls first team honor roll are Ouachita Parish’s Deja Chase (15.0 points, 6.0 rebounds, 4.0 assists), West Monroe’s Abby Lee (15 points, 10 rebounds), Sulphur’s Becca Brooks (16.3 points, 7.2 assists, 6.2 steals) and Destrehan’s Cara Ursin (17.2 points a game).

The boys second team includes St. Augustine’s Bryce Washington, Comeaux’s Xavier Ledet, Natchitoches Central’s Austin Guy, Ruston’s Isaiah Buggs and East St. John’s Edwin Winston.

The girls second team includes Ouachita’s T’Erika Bell, Ponchatoula’s Jyar Francis, Denham Springs’ Caletria Curtis, Walker’s Jamie Gibson and Southwood’s Chelsea Tieuel.


More USA TODAY High School Sports