Generals, Panthers among top performers at sectional wrestling

Generals, Panthers among top performers at sectional wrestling


Generals, Panthers among top performers at sectional wrestling



Sheridan and New Lexington combined for six individual championships during Saturday’s Division II sectional wrestling meet at Albany Alexander.

New Lexington won the team title with 210½ points and Sheridan was third with 160½.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class advance to next weekend’s district at Wilmington.

Andrew Spicer (120) and Isaac McFann (195) won titles for New Lexington. Other Panthers qualifying were Tyler Hicks (126), Austin Ratliff (132), Mac Swackhammer (152) and Tanner Walker (182) with second-place finishes while T.J. Newsome (106), Chris Settles (113) and Dimitri Williams (160) all came in third.

Sheridan won four individual titles with Nathan Kehn (113), Zach Carpenter (145), Devin King (220) and Evan Loughman (285). Austin Wolcott (126) and Cayne Bennett (138) finished third and Logan Gordon (170) was fourth.

Jordan Burkholder (106) won for Crooksville in the Division III meet at Alexander. Layne Garey (126) and Ty Slayton (152) each came in second and Jeffery Patrick (160) was fourth to round out the Ceramics’ qualifiers, who will wrestle at the Heath district next weekend.

Four Division II area teams will send wrestlers to the Claymont district.

Philo’s Steven Frazier (170) won the sectional at Buckeye Local with a 6-5 decision against Steubenville’s Brandon Jones in the final.

Luke Miller (138) came in second and Peyton Henderson (Hwt.) was fourth to also advance for the Electrics. John Glenn sent four on as Ben Van Wey (132), Stone Morgan (195) and Luke Larson (220) were runner-ups and Matt Tom (182) came in fourth.

Maysville’s Ruger Reeves came in second (132), Hayden Matheney (126) and Kody Driggs (132) were third and John Haines (145) fourth for Morgan to qualify from the Claymont sectional.

In Division III at Barnesville, West Muskingum was led by Quinton Bishop (113), who won with a 10-7 decision against St. Clairsville’s Alex Timko.

Corey Taylor (182) was the runner-up and John Junk (126) was fourth to qualify for the Tornadoes, who will compete at Heath.

Tri-Valley qualified five wrestlers and Zanesville had one in the Division I sectional at Watkins Memorial. They will compete at Hilliard Darby.

Slade Tyson (120) and Kade Kowalski (145) each won titles for the Scotties, Austin Smith (113) came in second and Matt Fellows (160) and Cameron Moran (170) were fourth.

Olajuwon Pettiford came in third at 132 for the Blue Devils.


More USA TODAY High School Sports
Generals, Panthers among top performers at sectional wrestling
I found this story on USA TODAY High School Sports and wanted to share it with you: %link% For more high school stories, stats and videos, visit