Girls basketball: Buck, Otto named 1st team all-OC selections

Girls basketball: Buck, Otto named 1st team all-OC selections


Girls basketball: Buck, Otto named 1st team all-OC selections


The Olympian Conference recently announced its all conference basketball squad with a pair of area players garnering first team honors in Valders senior Danelle Buck and Reedsville junior Shelby Otto.

Buck was fourth in the conference in scoring at 13.4 points per game while Otto averaged a double-double with 11.7 points and 10.9 rebounds a contest. Otto also rejected 3.7 shots a game.

Otto’s teammate Riley Grimm was one of three juniors from Manitowoc County named to the second team along with Manitowoc Lutheran’s Arianna Neumeyer and MacKayla Menges.

The area dominated the honorable mentions, earning seven of the possible 10 spots. Lauren Holschbach (sr.) and Brenna Kiekhaefer (so.) made it for the Panthers while Morgan Kelly (jr.) and Brittany Erickson (sr.) were named for the Vikings.

Also earning a pair of honorable mentions was Roncalli, which had Alex Cliff (so.) and Hannah Severin (jr.) while Morgan Melichar (so.) was the lone member for Mishicot to earn all-OC recognition.

First Team

Erica Gehl, jr., Hilbert

Jenna Thelen, sr., St. Mary Central

Danelle Buck, sr., Valders

Tori Lemke, sr., Brillion

Claire Stiefvater, sr., Chilton

Shelby Otto, jr., Reedsville

Second Team

Megan Hansen, sr., Wrightstown

Arianna Neumeyer, jr., Manitowoc Lutheran

Riley Grimm, jr., Reedsville

MacKayla Menges, jr. Manitowoc Lutheran

April Gehl, so., Hilbert

Alaina Beimborn, jr. Brillion

Honorable Mention

Alexandria Cliff, so., Roncalli

Lauren Holschbach, sr., Reedsville

Amber Piepenburg, sr., Brillion

Alisha Murphy, fr., Wrightstown

Brenna Kiekhaefer, so., Reedsville

Hannah Severin, jr., Roncalli

Morgan Kelly, jr., Valders

Brittany Erickson, sr., Valders

Erin Leffler, jr., Hilbert

Morgan Melichar, jr., Mishicot

Player of the Year

Erica Gehl Hilbert


More USA TODAY High School Sports