Harpursville's Miranda Drummond named co-state basketball player of the year

Harpursville's Miranda Drummond named co-state basketball player of the year


Harpursville's Miranda Drummond named co-state basketball player of the year


Two Section 4 girls basketball players were named player of the year in their respective classes and 17 overall were honored with the New York State Sportswriters Association released its all-state teams for Classes B, C and D this week.

Harpursville’s Miranda Drummond was named co-player of the year in Class C, and Franklin’s Jordan Beers was named player of the year in Class D. Both were named first team all-state, as was Oneonta’s Mariah Ruff in Class B.

Drummond shared Class C honors with Mckenna Maycock of Randolph in Section 6. Drummond led the Hornets to three Section 4 titles and two state final four berths, and finished her career with 1,930 points. She averaged 26.3 points, 11.3 rebounds and 4 assists per game this season.

Another Division I signee from Section 4 made the Class C second team, Notre Dame’s Sheridan Heine. The Manhattan signee averaged 19 points, 7.6 rebounds, 6.7 steals and 2.3 assists per game for the Crusaders.

Ruff was earlier this spring named Miss New York Basketball by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York. Ruff and Drummond will be teammates starting this fall at St. Bonaventure University.

Ruff led the Yellowjackets to an 18-3 record and Section 4 title. She averaged 17.6 points, 7.2 rebounds and 6.3 assists this season. Over her career, she scored 1,932 points.

Five other players from Class B in Section 4 were named all-state: Norwich’s Jenni Borfitz to third team, Oneonta’s Brittney Herrick fourth team, Waverly’s Reylynn Schwartzhoff to the sixth team, Chenango Valley’s Hannah Elliott to the eighth team and Susquehanna Valley’s Shayna Lee to the ninth team.

Drummond was one of two Harpursville players on the all-state list for Class C, with Shelby Medovich making the third team. Lansing’s Shea McCartney (15 ppg.) was named to the fifth team, while Bainbridge-Guilford’s Morgan Bullis and Sidney’s Kelsey Decker were named to the seventh and ninth teams, respectively.

Beers ended her career with over 2,000 points as Franklin’s all-time leading scorer. She led the Purple Devils to the Section 4 Class D championship and No. 2 state ranking before Franklin’s only loss of the season, 52-35 to Hamilton in the state quarterfinals.

Beers was one of two Franklin players and five from Section 4 overall honored. Franklin center Marisa Cawley was named to the second team, and Milford’s Addy Lawson and South Kortright’s Tori Rockefeller were named fifth team. Davenport’s Sarah Haight made the seventh team.

The all-state teams for classes AA and A will be released later this week.


More USA TODAY High School Sports