High school notebook | Fairdale to honor its 3 state championship basketball teams

Twenty years ago the Fairdale High School boys’ basketball team won its third state championship in five seasons. On Friday the school will honor the players, coaches and cheerleaders from all three squads.

Former coach Lloyd Gardner said “60-70 percent” of the former players will attend the ceremony during the Bulldogs’ doubleheader against Butler. The girls’ game is set for 6 p.m., with the boys’ game to follow at 7:30.

Stan Hardin coached Fairdale to state titles in 1990 and 1991, beating Holmes 77-73 in the 1990 final and Tates Creek 67-63 in the 1991 championship game. Gardner was the coach when the Bulldogs beat Paul Dunbar 59-56 in the 1994 final.

Gardner said Jermaine Brown, Kentucky’s Mr. Basketball in 1991, plans to attend the ceremony. Eric Martin, one of the stars of the 1994 team, is a professional coach in Mexico and won’t be able to attend.

Current Fairdale coach Gregg Longacre was an assistant on all three championship teams. The 1990 and ’91 teams are the last in Kentucky to win back-to-back titles.

“Those 1990 and 1991 teams were especially strong and athletic,” Longacre said. “Everybody talks about Maurice Morris and Jermaine Brown and Carlos Turner, and they deserved the attention. But you also had Terry Jenkins, who was an All-State tight end, and Ty Scroggins, who’s now the football coach at Central. They were just so exciting to watch.”

St. Xavier won the Big School crown and Union County took the Small School title in Saturday’s State Wrestling Duals at Montgomery County. Union County beat St. X 48-20 for the overall championship.

St. X defeated Oldham County 43-24 in the Big School final. Trinity beat Fern Creek 46-36 for third place.

Union County beat Wayne County 63-13 in the Small School final. Moore knocked off Johnson Central 36-33 in the third-place match. North Oldham finished sixth and Doss seventh.

Union County is No. 1 in the state in the latest rankings. Here is the complete Top 25 and the top wrestler in each weight class:

1. Union County, 2. Campbell County, 3. Woodford County, 4. St. Xavier, 5. Trinity, 6. Moore, 7. Ryle, 8. Henry Clay, 9. Johnson Central, 10. North Hardin, 11. Oldham County, 12. Simon Kenton, 13. Lafayette, 14. Fern Creek, 15. Caldwell County, 16. Wayne County, 17. Christian County, 18. Scott, 19. North Oldham, 20. Meade County, 21. Walton-Verona, 22. Fort Campbell, 23. Conner, 24. Southern, 25. John Hardin.* Top 25 teams:

* 106 pounds, Tucker Hurst (Woodford County); 113, John Hernandez (Henry Clay); 120, Nathan Boston (Woodford County); 126, Trae Blackwell (Union County); 132, Brock Ervin (Union County); 138, Sean Fausz (Campbell County); 145, Clay Brown (Walton-Verona); 152, Justin Lampe (St. Xavier); 160, Dominic Lampe (St. X); 170, Johnny Meiman (Ryle); 182, Mikey Smith (Moore); 195, Darrius Parrott (North Hardin); 220, Austin Myers (Campbell County); 285, Landon Young (Lafayette).Top-ranked individuals:

* Ballard senior Quentin Snider, a University of Louisville signee, needs 50 points to pass Allan Houston as the school’s all-time leading scorer. Snider has 553 points this season (averaging 22.1 per game) to give him 2,227 in his career. Houston finished with 2,276.

Snider became Ballard’s career leader in assists earlier this season. He could break the scoring record this weekend as the Bruins play Atherton on Friday and visit Eastern on Saturday, with both games set for 7:30. The game against Atherton has been moved to Jeffersontown because of water damage on Ballard’s court.

The Bruins’ game against Central on Tuesday has been moved to Central.

* Trinity, No. 4 in The Courier-Journal’s Litkenhous Ratings, will face No. 3 Scott County at 6 p.m. Saturday in the marquee game of the Jock Sutherland Classic at Lafayette.

The four-game event also will include Paul Dunbar vs. Augusta at 2:30 p.m., No. 10 Wayne County against No. 11 Knott County Central at 4:15 and No. 6 Lafayette facing Lexington Catholic at 8.

Notre Dame’s Elly Ogle and Heidi Thelen were among 75 players to receive Highest Honorable Mention. Mercy’s Morgan Elmore and Meredith Jewell and Notre Dame’s Morgan Hentz received High Honorable Mention.

More News